The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains

The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains

3.95 (6,604 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.97

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Neil Gaiman's award-winning novells The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains is a haunting story of family, the otherworld, and a search for hidden treasure, and was serialised on BBC Radio 4's Book at Bedtime in November 2015. 'Gaiman's achievement is to make the fantasy world seem true' (The Times). Neil Gaiman is the bestselling author of The Ocean at the End of the Lane and the epic American Gods, whose storytelling genius will appeal to fans of J.K. Rowling and George R.R. Martin.The text of The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains was first published in the collection Stories: All New Tales (Headline, 2010). This gorgeous full-colour illustrated book version was born of a unique collaboration between writer Neil Gaiman and artist Eddie Campbell, who brought to vivid life the characters and landscape of Gaiman's story.In August 2010, The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains was performed in the concert hall of the Sydney Opera House to a sell-out crowd - Gaiman read his tale live as Campbell's magnificent artwork was presented, scene by scene, on large screens. Narrative and art were accompanied by live music composed and performed especially for the story by the FourPlay String Quartet.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 80 pages
  • 206 x 208 x 15mm | 450g
  • Headline Publishing Group
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1472221079
  • 9781472221070
  • 214,684

About Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman is the author of over thirty acclaimed books and graphic novels for adults and children, including AMERICAN GODS, STARDUST, CORALINE and THE GRAVEYARD BOOK. His most recent novel for adults, THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE was highly acclaimed, appeared on the hardback and paperback Sunday Times bestseller lists and won several awards, including being voted Book of the Year in the National Book Awards 2013: 'Some books you read. Some books you enjoy. But some books just swallow you up, heart and soul' Joanne Harris. The recipient of numerous literary honours, Neil Gaiman's work has been adapted for film, television and radio. He has written scripts for Doctor Who, collaborated with authors and illustrators including Terry Pratchett, Dave McKean and Chris Riddell, and THE SANDMAN is established as one of the classic graphic novels. As George R R Martin says: 'There's no one quite like Neil Gaiman.'Originally from England, Neil Gaiman now lives in America.show more

Rating details

6,604 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 31% (2,051)
4 41% (2,727)
3 21% (1,417)
2 4% (291)
1 2% (118)

Our customer reviews

I decided to give this book a go as I fell in love with Gaiman's style last year when I read The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I am unfamiliar with his other works, including the original anthology in which this short story originates, so I came to it with fresh eyes, and seeing the illustrations as quite separate from the story. Firstly, I love Gaiman's writing style; evocative, detailed, often wispy and very well constructed. If you take a moment to read aloud his words, you'll find they simply take on a form of themselves. But saying that, I found the story a little hard to get into - all rather flat and meandering. Despite its short length, it did actually pick up in the middle, with themes of regret, loss and grief leading into revenge and a harrowing climax is sure to follow; as the title surely reveals - The truth is a cave in the black mountains. It is certainly worth a read, and great for any lover of illustrated stories. I must say though that I disliked a lot of the pictures that accompany the book. It is all rather niche-y and may not appeal to most.show more
by Dan Thompson-Ball
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X