Treating the New Anxiety
18%
off

Treating the New Anxiety : A Cognitive-Theological Approach

3.5 (2 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The post-9/11 age of supermodernity is characterized by an intensification of collective anxiety about the present and future state of the nation and the world. Our psychological and spiritual capacities are pushed to their limits. Through a cognitive-theological approach to the treatment of this intensified anxiety, Kirk Bingaman demonstrates that it is possible and indeed necessary to help those in our care to live meaningfully even in a time of great change and uncertainty.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 160 pages
  • 149.9 x 221 x 12.7mm | 226.8g
  • Jason Aronson Inc. Publishers
  • Northvale NJ, United States
  • English
  • 0765704633
  • 9780765704634

Review quote

In the tradition of Erich Fromm and Rollo May, Kirk Bingaman addresses the psychological and social implications of anxiety. But Bingaman adds a new twist, namely the relevance of theology to address the "new anxiety" of our post-9/11 era. This important book demonstrates that a formative and fruitful integration is possible between theology and therapy, and underscores the necessity, in a "supermodern," post-9/11 world, for such an integration in treating anxiety. -- Rev. Kevin Gillespie, S.J., Ph.D., associate professor of Pastoral Counseling, Loyola College, Maryland This is one of the few works on cognitive therapy that focuses on our deepest core belief-the cognitive foundation of our hopes and fears that provides purpose and meaning to our lives. Dr. Bingaman enters this realm where mental health practitioners have traditionally feared to tread. Therapists will gain important insight by reading this book. -- Rian E. McMullin, Ph.D., one of the founders of Cognitive Restructuring Therapy; author, The New Handbook of Cognitive Therapy and Taking Out Your Mental [Bingaman] paints a clear and recognizable portrait of the non-places we inhabit and our intense need to make meaning of the events that flood our lives. His argument and case studies are compelling...Bingaman builds a strong case. Journal of Pastoral Theology, Fall 2007 Kirk Bingaman provides compelling evidence that we confront a "new anxiety"-one in which many of our worries, anxieties, and fears are not disproportionate to the threats that confront us. He draws on cognitive behavioral therapy to address this new anxiety, but rather than the traditional emphasis on the client's irrational beliefs, he advocates an emphasis on the client's core beliefs-beliefs that heretofore have provided inadequate, even unsettling, answers to the fundamental question: Where is God? For those who seek expert guidance on how to assist clients in developing core beliefs that effectively address the new anxiety, this book is a godsend. It could not have come at a more opportune moment. -- Donald Cappsshow more

About Kirk A. Bingaman

Kirk A. Bingaman, Ph.D. is assistant professor of pastoral counseling and director of the Pastoral Counseling Program in the Graduate School of Religion and Religious Education at Fordham University. He is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in New York and a Fellow with the American Association of Pastoral Counselors. His previous book, Freud and Faith: Living in the Tension, was published in 2003.show more

Rating details

2 ratings
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 50% (1)
3 50% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X