Treasures from Grandma's Attic

Treasures from Grandma's Attic

4.11 (558 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Journey back to Grandma's childhood on a Michigan farm in the 1800s for heartwarming stories that inspire faith and godly character. Arleta Richardson's beloved series, Grandma's Attic, returns with Treasures from Grandma's Attic, the fourth in the refreshed classic collection for girls 8 to 12. This compilation of tales recounts humorous and poignant memories from Grandma Mabel's childhood on a Michigan farm in the late 1800s. Combining the warmth and spirit of Little House on the Prairie with a Christian focus, this book transports readers back to a simpler time to learn lessons surprisingly relevant in today's world. Richardson's wholesome stories have reached more than two million readers worldwide. Parents appreciate the godly values and character they promote. Children love the captivating storytelling that recounts childhood memories of mischief and joy. Ideal for home, school, or church libraries, or to give as a gift certain to be more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 159 pages
  • 132.08 x 187.96 x 12.7mm | 68.04g
  • David C Cook Publishing Company
  • Colorado Springs, CO, United States
  • English
  • 3rd ed.
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0781403820
  • 9780781403825
  • 150,490

About Arleta Richardson

Arleta Richardson grew up in a Chicago hotel under her grandmother's care. As they sat overlooking the shores of Lake Michigan, her grandmother shared memories of her childhood on a Michigan farm. These treasured family stories became the basis for the Grandma's Attic more

Rating details

558 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 39% (219)
4 37% (206)
3 21% (115)
2 3% (14)
1 1% (4)

Our customer reviews

With book four comes a change in format. The book no longer has Arleta listening to stories from Grandma but rather is a story told in the voice of Grandma (Mabel) herself. Each chapter is still an individual vignette unrelated to the others, though mention is occasionally made of past events not only from previous chapters but from previous books. In this book, Mabel talks about the year she and Sarah Jane were in Grade 8 and now that they are growing up, they still manage to get themselves into scrapes from mischievousness but they are more apt to have done something wrong that sits badly on their conscience and their Christian values. This book is a little deeper in the Christian aspect as many of the stories (though certainly not all) the girls are learning where the Gospel and scripture fit into their own lives. I still think these books are laid back enough that non-Christians will accept the characters\' religion as part of the story rather than feel as if it is being preached to the reader, as they are not preachy at all, simply wholesome. I really quite enjoyed this one, especially with the new format of a straight story of Mabel reminiscing about her childhood, rather than the back and forth of present to past as in the first 3 more
by Nicola Mansfield
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X