Treachery

Treachery

4.17 (1,955 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.



August, 1585. England is on the brink of war...



Sir Francis Drake is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish when a murder aboard his ship changes everything.



A relentless enemy. A treacherous conspiracy.



Giordano Bruno agrees to hunt the killer down, only to find that more than one deadly plot is brewing in Plymouth's murky underworld. And as he tracks a murderer through its dangerous streets, he uncovers a conspiracy that threatens the future of England itself.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 576 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 37mm | 420g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0007481225
  • 9780007481224
  • 151,056

Review quote

Praise for TREACHERY:


* `Hugely enjoyable... It's played straight, but never humourlessly so, and there's just enough "proper" history amid the intrigue to keep purists on side' Guardian


* `With its twisting plot and vivid scene-setting, TREACHERY confirms Parris's growing reputation as a writer of historical thrillers' Sunday Times


* `An evil bookseller and a terrifying brothel lie ahead; what's not to like? Gripping and fun' Observer


* `Parris's Giordano Bruno series has been a joy. Her Elizabethan England is loud, pungent and blessedly free of some of the genre's more egregious cliches. She wears her research lightly: at home with the detail of the period, she is quite happy to engage in a little creative anachronism to bring the story home' Telegraph


* `There are echoes of CJ Sansom's Shardlake series here. But Parris is better than the usual run of imitators. Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming' The Times


Praise for S. J. Parris:


* `Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins' Daily Telegraph


* `It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' Kate Mosse


* `Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please' The Times


* `Full of surprises ... an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth's security' TLS


* `Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden


* `A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I' Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy
show more

About S. J. Parris

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.


Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.
show more

Rating details

1,955 ratings
4.17 out of 5 stars
5 38% (750)
4 44% (869)
3 15% (290)
2 1% (27)
1 1% (19)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X