• Paperback
Edited by 

List price: US$17.16

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Ten brand new novellas of suspense by the very best mystery and thriller writers in the world. One from each of: Stephen King, Jeffery Deaver, Ed McBain, Walter Mosley, John Farris, Lawrence Block, Sharyn McCrumb, Joyce Carol Oates, Anne Perry and Donald Westlake. This is the definitive collection from the top authors at the the beginning of the 21st century and will be a must-buy for all the millions of crime fans around the globe.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 784 pages
  • 154 x 230 x 50mm | 997.91g
  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 0752872370
  • 9780752872377
  • 2,290,729

Review quote

"The variety of approaches and the general level of quality are impressive. All of these stories except King's could easily have been expanded into full-length novels but none would be the better for it." MYSTERY SCENE, Spring 2005 "McBain's belief in the novella is upheld by solid contributions from John Farris and Joyce Carol Oates in an anthology that also represents surprisingly good value." METRO (LONDON), 24 Nov "A brilliant package of longish short stories by the world's best crime writers. McBain's own story... is pure genius." DAILY MIRROR, 2 Dec "This is a definitive new collection of epic short stories, most of which could easily have been expanded into full-length novels. A must-buy for all the milllions of thrillers, suspense, crime and mystery fans around the world." GOOD BOOK GUIDE, 1 Dec "A brilliant collection of crime stories and mini thrillers... a comprehensive overview of the best in the game." DAILY MIRROR, 23 Dec "A guaranteed treat for readers of crime fiction. All the writers are masters of their craft." THE GUARDIAN, 7 Jan
show more

About Ed McBain

The editor of this collection, Ed McBain, was born Salvatore Lambino in New York. He changed his name to Evan Hunter and under that name is known as the author of The Blackboard Jungle and as the writer of the screenplay for Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds. As Ed McBain, he is most famous for the inimitable 87th Precinct series of novels - which now numbers over fifty titles. A Grand Master of the Mystery Writers of America, Ed McBain was also one of only three American writers to be awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger for lifetime achievement. His death earlier this year left the crimewriting world in mourning for one of its leading lights.
show more