Transgressions : Volume 4

3.56 (51 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author)  , By (author)  , Edited by 

List price: US$7.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


New York Times bestsellers Sharyn McCrumb, Joyce Carol Oates, and Anne Perry each provided a brand-new, never-before-published tale for this unique collection of stories edited by "New York Times" bestselling author and mystery legend Ed McBain.
"The Resurrection Man" by Sharyn McCrumb: During America's first century, doctors used any means necessary to advance their craft--including dissecting corpses. Sharyn McCrumb brings the South of the 1850s to life in this story of a man who is assigned to dig up bodies to help those that are still alive.
"The Corn Maiden" by Joyce Carol Oates: When a twelve-year-old girl is abducted in a small New York town, the crime starts a spiral of destruction and despair as only this master of psychological suspense could write it.
"Hostages" by Anne Perry: The bestselling historical mystery author has written a tale of beautiful yet still savage Ireland today. In their eternal struggle for freedom, there is about to be a changing of the guard in the Irish Republican Army. Yet for some, old habits--and honor--still die hard, even at gunpoint.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 402 pages
  • 96.5 x 172.7 x 35.6mm | 158.76g
  • Poland
  • English
  • 0765354195
  • 9780765354198
  • 1,123,158

Review quote

Stocked with startling twists and deadly turns.
show more

About Joyce Carol Oates

Sharyn McCrumb is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels depicting life in Appalachia. Her latest novel is "St. Dale."
Joyce Carol Oates is a recipient of the National Book Award and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction. Her bestselling novels include "We Were the Mulvaneys" and "Blonde." Her latest novel is "Missing Mom."
Anne Perry is the "New York Times" bestselling author of numerous historical fiction novels. Her latest novel is "Dark Assassin."
Ed McBain was also known as Evan Hunter. His writing career has spanned almost five decades, from his first novel, "The Blackboard Jungle," in 1954 to the screenplay for Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds to "Candyland," written in tandem with his alter ego, Ed McBain, to his most recent novel, "The Moment She Was Gone." He is the first American ever to receive the Diamond Dagger, the British Crime Writers Association's highest award. He also holds the Mystery Writers of America's prestigious Grand Master Award. His last 87th Precinct novel was "Fiddlers." Evan Hunter / Ed McBain passed away in Fall 2005.
show more

Rating details

51 ratings
3.56 out of 5 stars
5 16% (8)
4 37% (19)
3 35% (18)
2 12% (6)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X