Traitor Angels

Traitor Angels

3.52 (464 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


A romantic and exhilarating historical adventure about a girl who must unlock the secrets within Paradise Lost to save her father--perfect for fans of Revolution and Code Name Verity--from acclaimed author Anne Blankman, whose debut novel, Prisoner of Night and Fog, was a Sydney Taylor Notable Book for Teens in 2015

Six years have passed since England's King Charles II returned from exile to reclaim the throne, ushering in a new era of stability for his subjects.

Except for Elizabeth Milton. The daughter of notorious poet John Milton, Elizabeth has never known her place in this shifting world--except by her father's side. By day she helps transcribe his latest masterpiece, the epic poem Paradise Lost, and by night she learns languages and sword fighting. Although she does not dare object, she suspects that he's training her for a mission whose purpose she cannot fathom.

Until one night the king's men arrive at her family's country home to arrest her father. Determined to save him, Elizabeth follows his one cryptic clue and journeys to Oxford, accompanied by her father's mysterious young houseguest, Antonio Viviani, a darkly handsome Italian scientist who surprises her at every turn. Funny, brilliant, and passionate, Antonio seems just as determined to protect her father as she is--but can she trust him with her heart?

When the two discover that Milton has planted an explosive secret in the half-finished Paradise Lost--a secret the king and his aristocratic supporters are desperate to conceal--Elizabeth is faced with a devastating choice: cling to the shelter of her old life, or risk cracking the code, unleashing a secret that could save her father . . . and tear apart the very fabric of society.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 393 pages
  • 145 x 211 x 38mm | 522g
  • Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • English
  • 0062278878
  • 9780062278876
  • 652,913

Review quote

Praise for CONSPIRACY OF BLOOD AND SMOKE: "Will leave the reader breathless with each unpredictable plot twist."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (starred review)
show more

Rating details

464 ratings
3.52 out of 5 stars
5 24% (110)
4 31% (143)
3 27% (124)
2 12% (55)
1 7% (32)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X