The Tragic Story of the Empress of Ireland

The Tragic Story of the Empress of Ireland

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


A century after it sank to the bottom of the St. Lawrence River, the ruin of the "Empress of Ireland "has remained one of the most devastating tragedies in maritime history. Logan Marshall's vivid and detailed reportage was the first account of the disaster and has endured as a classic chronicle of what happened that fateful night. On May 28, 1914, the grand ocean liner, the "Empress of Ireland," left Quebec on the St. Lawrence River, bound for an Atlantic crossing to Liverpool, England. At a few minutes before two o'clock on the morning of Friday, May 29, the "Empress "sighted the Norwegian collier, "Storstad, " at the same time as a heavy fog bank was descending. Despite warnings and evasive maneuvers, the "Empress" was struck on the starboard side by the "Storstad," which penetrated its hull by twelve feet. The captain and crew had less than fifteen minutes to save their passengers before the ship slipped under the waves. Of the 1,475 aboard, 1,078 perished in a matter of minutes. It remains the worst peacetime catastrophe in Canadian history. In addition to his unforgettable account of the sinking, Logan Marshall also presents a gripping retelling of the "Titanic" disaster, as well as other maritime tragedies. For decades, Marshall's account of the "Empress of Ireland "has remained the definitive version, comparable to Walter Lord's chronicle of the "Titanic" sinking, "A Night to Remember." CENTENNIAL EDITION: INCLUDES PHOTOS AND A NEW AFTERWORD UPDATING THE STORYshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 318 pages
  • 150 x 226 x 14mm | 320g
  • Berkley Publishing Group
  • United States
  • English
  • Centennial ed.
  • black & white illustrations, maps, frontispiece
  • 0425273547
  • 9780425273548
  • 1,588,430

About Logan Marshall

Logan Marshall was a pseudonym for Logan Howard-Smith, an editor at the John C. Winston Publishing Company. He wrote a number of books, including "Sinking of the Titanic and Other Sea Disasters "and "Horrors and Atrocities of the Great War." He died in more