The Toymakers

The Toymakers

4.07 (5,404 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from Australia in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment.

The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own. Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own.

But Cathy is about to discover that the Emporium has secrets of its own...


A dark enchanting, spectacularly imaginative novel perfect for fans of Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 33mm | 505g
  • Ebury Press
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1785038125
  • 9781785038129
  • 287,686

Review Text

"There is magic at the heart of The Toymakers, a glittery inventiveness that shimmers through the dark corners of a story about love, war and sibling rivalry...Robert Dinsdale's imagined toys are truly glorious...a gripping, moving story." SUNDAY EXPRESS
show more

Review quote

"There is magic at the heart of The Toymakers, a glittery inventiveness that shimmers through the dark corners of a story about love, war and sibling rivalry...Robert Dinsdale's imagined toys are truly glorious...a gripping, moving story." * SUNDAY EXPRESS * "Like the magic at the heart of the story, this vivid, haunting novel is both vast and intimate. A world war echoes a family conflict, and the delights and dangers of childhood suddenly have vast implications. A wonderful and thought-provoking read." -- Katherine Arden, author of The Winternight Series "What an extraordinary and wonderful achievement this novel is! I was gripped, and thrilled, and touched, and above all I was completely swept into the magic of the book...And the scope of the thing! Such a broad chronological range, such sweep, all with the lightest touch. Just astonishing." -- ADAM ROBERTS "truly magical ... Anyone who's ever stepped inside a traditional toyshop and marvelled at the wonders on display will instantly be captivated by this book, which transports readers to The Emporium in London. Prepare to be charmed by this utterly enchanting tale." * CULTUREFLY * "A magical World War I novel" * METRO *
show more

About Robert Dinsdale

Robert Dinsdale was born in North Yorkshire and currently lives in Leigh-On-Sea. He is the author of three previous critically acclaimed novels: THE HARROWING, LITTLE EXILES and GINGERBREAD.

THE TOYMAKERS is his first venture into magic.
show more

Rating details

5,404 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 41% (2,232)
4 33% (1,789)
3 19% (1,001)
2 6% (309)
1 1% (73)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X