Towers of Midnight

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


The Last Battle has started. The seals on the Dark One's prison are crumbling. The Pattern itself is unraveling, and the armies of the Shadow have begun to boil out of the Blight.The sun has begun to set upon the Third Age.Perrin Aybara is now hunted by specters from his past: Whitecloaks, a slayer of wolves, and the responsibilities of leadership. All the while, an unseen foe is slowly pulling a noose tight around his neck. To prevail, he must seek answers in "Tel'aran'rhiod" and find a way--at long last--to master the wolf within him or lose himself to it forever.Meanwhile, Matrim Cauthon prepares for the most difficult challenge of his life. The creatures beyond the stone gateways--the Aelfinn and the Eelfinn--have confused him, taunted him, and left him hanged, his memory stuffed with bits and pieces of other men's lives. He had hoped that his last confrontation with them would be the end of it, but the Wheel weaves as the Wheel wills. The time is coming when he will again have to dance with the Snakes and the Foxes, playing a game that cannot be won. The Tower of Ghenjei awaits, and its secrets will reveal the fate of a friend long lost.This penultimate novel of Robert Jordan's #1 "New York Times" bestselling series--the second of three based on materials he left behind when he died in 2007--brings dramatic and compelling developments to many threads in the Pattern. The end draws near."Dovie'andi se tovya sagain." It's time to toss the more

Product details

  • Hardback | 861 pages
  • 162.56 x 241.3 x 68.58mm | 1,043.26g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations, maps
  • 0765325942
  • 9780765325945
  • 35,703

Review quote

"The battle scenes have the breathless urgency of firsthand experience, and the . . . evil laced into the forces of good, the dangers latent in any promised salvation, the sense of the unavoidable onslaught of unpredictable events bear the marks of American national experience during the last three decades, just as the experience of the First World War and its aftermath gave its imprint to J. R. R. Tolkien's work."--"The New York Times" on The Wheel of Time(R)show more

About Professor of Theatre Studies and Head of the School of Theatre Studies Robert Jordan

Robert Jordan was born in 1948 in Charleston, South Carolina. He taught himself to read when he was four with the incidental aid of a twelve-years-older brother, and was tackling Mark Twain and Jules Verne by five. He is a graduate of The Citadel, the Military College of South Carolina, with a degree in physics. He served two tours in Vietnam with the U.S. Army; among his decorations are the Distinguished Flying Cross with bronze oak leaf cluster, the Bronze Star with ""V"" and bronze oak leaf cluster, and two Vietnamese Gallantry Crosses with palm. A history buff, he has also written dance and theater criticism and enjoyed the outdoor sports of hunting, fishing, and sailing, and the indoor sports of poker, chess, pool, and pipe collecting.Robert Jordan began writing in 1977 and went on to write The Wheel of Time(r), one of the most important and best selling series in the history of fantasy publishing with over 14 million copies sold in North America, and countless more sold abroad.Robert Jordan died on September 16, 2007, after a courageous battle with the rare blood disease amyloidosis.BRANDON SANDERSON grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. In addition to completing Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time(r), he is the author of such bestsellers as the Mistborn trilogy, "Warbreaker," "The" "Alloy of Law," "The Way of Kings," "Rithmatist," and "Steelheart." He won the 2013 Hugo Award for "The Emperor's Soul," a novella set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, "Elantris."show more

Customer reviews

How you review a book like Towers of Midnight? Volume 13 of 14 (plus one prequel). 20 years in the making. Written by the living and the dead. The best answer I can come up with, spoiler free, is "very carefully". If you are reading this, I'm assuming you have read some - maybe not all - of the Wheel of Time series. If you haven't, well go and start, beginning with the Eye of the World (read the prequel after reading book 9 or 10 - that will help you keep going). If you have read some of the Wheel, but gave up sometime, think about giving it another go: this volume is almost all payoff for struggling through some dense plotting a while back. Plot threads are tied up, snipped off and wound up. You stop swearing at people doing stupid things (well, not as much anyway). I think this volume will make re-reading books 8-10 a different experience - if nothing else, the knowledge that this buildup is worthwhile, and there is an ending in sight, but it is more than that. Its clear now that much of that - maybe even (almost) all of it - was necessary. But what is it about? It?s the beginning of the Last Battle. al' Lan Mandragoran, the last King of Malkier is riding home to die. Trollocs are boiling out of the Blight. The Forsaken are scheming and dabbling in the affairs of men. In the face of that, Rand, Perrin and Mat must grow up and accept their destiny - and that is really the theme of the book, if not the whole series. It is just that now they are actually doing it. Towers of Midnight is almost all climax - Perrin's story starts off slowly, but picks up dramatically. Perrin has been a bit dull for a long time now, but here he really puts that behind him - albeit at great cost. Old mysteries are solved (but read the Glossary to be clear), Mesaana unmasked, the first Power-wrought weapons for 3000 years are made - and of course there is a rescue we have waited over 10 years to see. With A Memory of Light scheduled for late 2011/early 2012, the Wheel will cease turning after over 20 years. If that final volume is as good as this penultimate one, then the ending will be epic more
by John Middleton