Toward a Secret Sky
13%
off

Toward a Secret Sky

4.11 (57 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Toward a Secret Sky by New York Times bestselling author Heather Maclean is a new breed of YA novel: an intelligent adventure-quest crossed with a sweeping, forbidden love story. A mix of reality and possibility, this fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Stephenie Meyer and Dan Brown as it leads the reader on a breathless flight through the highlands of Scotland, the secret city under London, and history itself. Shortly after 17-year-old Maren Hamilton is orphaned and sent to live with grandparents she's never met in Scotland, she receives an encrypted journal from her dead mother that makes her and everyone around her a target. It confirms that her parents were employed by a secret, international organization that's now intent on recruiting her. As Maren works to unravel the clues left behind by her mother, a murderous madness sweeps through the local population, terrorizing her small town. Maren must decide if she'll continue her parents' fight or stay behind to save her friends. With the help of Gavin, an otherworldly mercenary she's not supposed to fall in love with, and Graham, a charming aristocrat who is entranced with her, Maren races against the clock and around the country from palatial estates with twisted labyrinths to famous cathedrals with booby-trapped subterranean crypts to stay ahead of the enemy and find a cure. Along the way, she discovers the great truth of love: that laying down your life for another isn't as hard as watching them sacrifice everything for you.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 150 x 210 x 22mm | 419g
  • ZONDERVAN
  • Blink
  • Grand Rapids, United States
  • English
  • 0310754747
  • 9780310754749
  • 562,164

Review quote

Demons, Descriptions, and a Fabulous story await the reader of 'Toward a Secret Sky'! It all starts off with Maren moving to Scotland, which let me tell you with the craze that is Outlander I was very happy to have this setting again! Maren as a teenage almost adult character worked out well. she is your average 17 year old girl who is dealing with the death of her family. I think the author did very well with portraying her. The author also did a wonderful job with making the world of Maren come alive. With some of the best descriptions I've read I could picture every step of her journey. The story itself is not boring or slow at all! Even the beginning is fast paced. This was a non-stop action packed thriller! Top Pick Title - 5 stars Night Owl Reviews "Five Stars! Mysterious, romantic, and totally fun! Toward a Secret Sky is the type of adventure I could lose myself in over and over again." ---Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval "Full of intrigue, savvy world-building, and sizzling romantic tension, Maclean's enthralling storytelling will keep readers flipping pages---and wanting more." ---Emily King, author of The Hundredth Queen Emily King, author of The Hundredth Queen "Five stars! This was the type of thrilling story I always dreamed of reading when I was younger (way before paranormal romance became popular!)" ---Shaila Patel, author of Soulmated, winner of the 2015 Chanticleer Book Reviews' Paranormal Awards Shaila Patel, author of Soulmated, winner of the 2015 Chanticleer Book Reviews' Paranormal Awards "I enjoyed this so much. It has just the right combination of magic, intrigue, and romance, and the beautiful Scottish backdrop and descriptions of various ancient sites just made it all the more appealing." ---Heather Fawcett, author of Even The Darkest Stars Heather Fawcett, author of Even The Darkest Stars I would definitely recommend to anyone who liked Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging, or even fans of the Princess Diaries. The book is fantastic overall!" ---Claire M. Andrews, author of Olympus Rising Claire M. Andrews, author of Olympus Rising Maren moves to Scotland in the same way someone jumps off a cliff into a black void. Settling into the new life is hard, but when she meets a good looking hunter in the forest she learns that her life has been nothing but secrets. The scenes and descriptions around life in Scotland with all of its variety are simply a treat. The author does a fantastic job of introducing a country full of beauty and roughness. When the demons appear and people start to die, the action is non-stop. All of this is mixed in with a lovely sense of mystery, one which also hangs greatly on Maren's interesting ability to solve puzzles. By mixing beautiful landscapes with forbidden romance and then adding a horde of blood thirsty demons, this story promises an exhilarating ride. ---T. Drecker (Bookworm for Kids) T. Drecker (Bookworm for Kids) After her mother dies in a freak accident, Maren Hamilton is sent to Scotland to live with grandparents she has never met. Not long after she arrives, she receives a strange package containing her mother's personal effects. Among the items, Maren finds an encrypted message as well as a warning that she is in grave danger and should trust no one. Things become even more complicated after she meets a mysterious young man, Gavin, who has secrets of his own, and develops a strong attachment to him. Those secrets may uncover truths about Maren's parents---and the reasons behind their untimely deaths. This paranormal novel blends elements of fantasy and mystery in a tale filled with plot twists to untangle, clues to be solved, and hidden passages to be discovered. A battle between angels and demons provides the central drama and will keep readers on the edge of their seats, and brief but effective descriptions of Scotland's landscape and history will further draw them into the narrative. Although there is a romance, it doesn't overshadow the plot, while the sometimes repetitive dialogue is still relatable and has the intensity and authentic tone of teen first love. VERDICT Fans of Lauren Kate's "Fallen" series and the film National Treasure will love this action-packed story of angels and demons, secret organizations, mysterious connections, and forbidden love. For those looking to refresh paranormal romance shelves.-Ericka Greer, Ouachita Parish Public Library, Monroe, LA School Library Journalshow more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X