Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys

Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys

3.68 (831 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$19.75

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys - stories by Booker-shortlisted author Will Self'Self at his most nihilistic and funny; you'll laugh and flinch at the same time' Guardian'Self has turned out an hilarious collection, with the requisite touch of disorientation. "Flytopia", the story about a man who suddenly finds flies more lovable than his girlfriend, follows the Kafkaesque line Self opened with his recent novel Great Apes - man as animal ... "Story for Europe", about a two-year-old north Londoner who suddenly starts speaking business German, is comic genius' Brenda Maddox, New Statesman'When Will Self wants to step outside his cultivated amoral threshold and shock us into rage, the effect can be profound ... an awesome London Dungeon of a collection ... Self is a massive talent' Time Out'He has a powerful sense of place: the murkier streets of London ... where anything can happen ... And modernity is his urgent subject' The TimesFor readers of The Book of Dave and Umbrella, Tough, Tough Boys... will also be adored by readers of Martin Amis, David Mitchell and Irvine Welsh.Will Self is the author of nine novels including Cock and Bull; My Idea of Fun; Great Apes; How the Dead Live; Dorian, an Imitation; The Book of Dave; The Butt; Walking to Hollywood and Umbrella, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. He has written five collections of shorter fiction and three novellas: The Quantity Theory of Insanity; Grey Area; License to Hug; The Sweet Smell of Psychosis; Design Faults in the Volvo 760 Turbo; Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys; Dr. Mukti and Other Tales of Woe and Liver: A Fictional Organ with a Surface Anatomy of Four Lobes. Self has also compiled a number of nonfiction works, including The Undivided Self: Selected Stories; Junk Mail; Perfidious Man; Sore Sites; Feeding Frenzy; Psychogeography; Psycho Too and The Unbearable Lightness of Being a Prawn Cracker.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 256 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 17mm | 172g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141040211
  • 9780141040219
  • 756,291

About Will Self

Will Self has earned his reputation through a body of innovative work: there's nobody quite like him writing today. He is the author of five novels, four collections of short stories, three novellas and four non-fiction works. As a journalist he has contributed to a plethora of publications over the years; he is also a regular broadcaster on television and radio. He lives in south London.
show more

Rating details

831 ratings
3.68 out of 5 stars
5 16% (135)
4 45% (370)
3 31% (261)
2 7% (58)
1 1% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X