A Touch of Mortality (Mitchell & Markby 9)
34%
off

A Touch of Mortality (Mitchell & Markby 9) : A cosy English village whodunit of wit and warmth

3.83 (271 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Village life can be deadly...

A move to rural Oxfordshire is not the peaceful existence the London couple are looking for in A Touch of Morality, Ann Granger's ninth English village crime novel in the Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Agatha Raisin, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.

'To be savoured' - Publishers Weekly

When Sally Caswell persuaded her scientist husband Liam to move from London to the quiet of rural Oxfordshire it was in the hope of a more peaceful existence. But so far the move has led to nothing but discord. Liam's sabbatical book project is not going well so, frustrated and isolated, he quarrels incessantly both with Sally and with their next-door neighbour, the crotchety pensioner Bodicote whose unruly goats are a constant source of contention. But then a mysterious package arrives that gives the couple real cause for anxiety.

It appears that Liam is being targeted by animal rights activists, though Superintendent Markby, in charge of the investigation, is not entirely convinced. Liam has many enemies, Bodicote among them, and it seems to Markby that Liam's cantankerous old neighbour is hiding something. The more Markby investigates, the more his unease grows - as does that of Meredith Mitchell, Markby's girlfriend and an old friend of Sally Caswell, for Meredith suspects Sally is far from well. Then a body is found ...

What readers are saying about A Touch of Mortality:

'Simply wonderful. She [Ann Granger] will always throw in a lovely little twist'

'The author piles up detail on detail with plenty of clues, suspects and undercurrents'

'Ann Granger is definitely one of the best out there that pens English village cosies'
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 116 x 177 x 23mm | 178g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 074725186X
  • 9780747251866
  • 213,682

About Ann Granger

Ann Granger has lived in cities all over the world, since for many years she worked for the Foreign Office and received postings to British embassies as far apart as Munich and Lusaka. She is now permanently based in Oxfordshire.
show more

Rating details

271 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 22% (60)
4 45% (122)
3 28% (77)
2 3% (9)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X