A Torch Against the Night
26%
off

A Torch Against the Night

4.35 (20,977 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLING SEQUEL TOAN EMBER IN THE ASHES A USA TODAY BESTSELLER A WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER Spectacular. Entertainment Weekly Fresh and exciting...Tahir has shown a remarkable talent for penning complex villains. A.V. Club "Even higher stakes than its predecessor thrilling." Publishers Weekly, starred review [An] action-packed, breathlessly paced story. Booklist, starred review Set in a rich, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Rome, Sabaa Tahir's AN EMBER IN THE ASHES told the story of Laia, a slave fighting for her family, and Elias, a young soldier fighting for his freedom. Now, in A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT, Elias and Laia are running for their lives. After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire. Laia is determined to break into Kauf the Empire s most secure and dangerous prison to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars' survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom. But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene Elias s former friend and the Empire s newest Blood Shrike. Bound to Marcus's will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape...and kill them both."show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 452 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 41mm | 703g
  • RAZORBILL
  • United States
  • English
  • 1101998873
  • 9781101998878
  • 72,298

Review quote

Named one of the best books of the year by: TIME Entertainment Weekly Buzzfeed Amazon PopSugar Bustle Paste Magazine PopCrush Praise forA Torch Against the Night: The stakes here are high and the plot runs like a well-oiled machine, ratcheting up the tension with every chapter. NPR.org An adrenaline rush till the very last page. Buzzfeed The sequel to Tahir s bestselling smash An Ember in the Ashes finally comes out in August, and let me tell you, it does not disappoint. Book Riot A Torch Against the Night is an unabashed page-turner that scarcely ever pauses for breath. The Christian Science Monitor Fast-paced, exciting and full of adrenaline, A Torch Against The Night is everything fans of Tahir s debut could possibly anticipate in a sequel. The Bucks County Courier Times Thrilling Tahir meticulously plots these novels, ramping up the suspense and including plenty of surprises. The Buffalo News Delivers in every way...The stakes have never been higher, and the tension is acutely felt as Elias and Laia run for their lives. USA Today s Happy Ever After blog At last, it s here...It s as heartbreaking as it is action-packed, delivering a worthy second installment in Tahir s bestselling series. Paste Tahir proves to be a master of suspense and a canny practitioner of the cliffhanger, riveting readers attention throughout. [An] action-packed, breathlessly paced story. Booklist, starred review "This sequel has a darker tone and even higher stakes than its predecessor, setting the stage for a thrilling conclusion." Publishers Weekly, starred review "Excellent." Kirkus Reviews "The rare sequel that improves on the original...unputdownable." Common Sense Media (Five Stars) Praise for An Ember in the Ashes: This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear. The Washington Post An Ember in the Ashescould launch Sabaa Tahir into JK Rowling territory It has the addictive quality ofTheHunger Gamescombined with the fantasy ofHarry Potterand the brutality ofGame of Thrones. Public Radio International "An Ember in the Ashesglows, burns, and smolders as beautiful and radiant as it is searing." Huffington Post [An Ember in the Ashes] thrusts its readers into a world marred by violence and oppression, yet does so with simple prose that can offer moments of loveliness in its clarity. This complexity makesEmbera worthy novel andone as brave as its characters. The New York Times Book Review Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy. Us Weekly An Ember in the AshesmixesThe Hunger GameswithGame of Thrones...and adds a dash ofRomeo and Juliet. The Hollywood Reporter Blew me away...This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic expect to be completely transported. MTV.com Fast-paced, well-structured andfull of twists and turns, An Ember in the Ashesis an evocative debut that has left me invested in knowing what happens next. NPR Once you get caught up in the story, it s addictive, and there s no way you can put it downbefore you figure out what happens to the characters you have fallen for over the course of the 400 some-odd pages. So I didn t. Bustle This epic fantasy set in the Martial Empire has it all danger and violence, secrets and lies, strong characters and forbidden romance and a touch of the supernatural. The Atlanta Journal-Constitution A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; anda villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateurs...An Ember in the Ashesis at thetop of our must-read listfor 2015. MTV.com Be prepared to be blown awayby this fantasy-thriller-adventure. Girls Life An Ember in the Ashesis a book that'stoo good to put down. RedEye Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater'sThe Scorpio Racesor Sarah Maas's Throne of Glass series The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC! TeenVogue.com * Tahir sdeft, polished debutalternates between two very different perspectives on the same brutal world, deepening both in the contrast. Ina tale brimming with political intrigue and haunted by supernatural forces, the true tension comes from watching Elias and Laia struggle to decide where their loyalties lie. Publishers Weekly, starred review Tahir s world-building is wonderfully detailed and the setting is an unusual one for fantasy novels. All of her characters, even minor ones, are fully realized....For fans ofGame of Thronesand of Melina Marchetta sFinnikin of the Rock. School Library Journal An original, well-constructed fantasy world...truly engaging. Kirkus Reviews Anepic fantasy debutabout an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It s a story that s literally burning to be told. Hypable.com First-time novelist Tahir has written an ambitious sword-and-sand adventure story that is notable for its suspense and scope. Booklist Here'sone of the year's most anticipatedyoung-adult debuts. io9.com I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight.If that doesn t convince you to readAn Ember in the Ashes, I don t know what will.An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debutthat will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world s ready for Sabaa Tahir. Marie Lu, New York Timesbestselling author ofLegend WithAn Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir shows us light in the darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times. #1New York Timesbestselling author Brandon Sanderson An Ember in the Ashesisa spectacular page turnerthat asks readers to consider how far they d go to save the ones they love.Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fictionand her debut is as cinematic asGladiatorand as high-stakes asGame of Thrones. Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Timesbestselling author ofCounting by 7s A heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building I ve read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down. Margaret Stohl, New York Timesbestselling co-author ofBeautiful Creatures This electric debut is apulse-pounding action-packedRomeo and Julietstory in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you ll root for and won t stop thinking about. Melissa de la Cruz, New York Timesbestselling author ofFrozenandThe Ring and the Crown"show more

About Sabaa Tahir

Sabaa Tahir grew up in California s Mojave Desert at her family s eighteen-room motel. There, she spent her time devouring fantasy novels, raiding her brother s comic book stash, and playing guitar badly. She began writing An Ember in the Asheswhile working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks, and all things nerd. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family. For more information, please visit Sabaa at SabaaTahir.com or on Twitter @SabaaTahir."show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X