A Topographical and Historical Description of the County of Cambridge; Containing an Account of Its Towns, Cathedral, Castles, Antiquities, Churches, Monuments, Public Edifices, Picturesque Scenery, the Residences of the Nobility,

A Topographical and Historical Description of the County of Cambridge; Containing an Account of Its Towns, Cathedral, Castles, Antiquities, Churches, Monuments, Public Edifices, Picturesque Scenery, the Residences of the Nobility,

By (author) 

List price: US$19.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

This historic book may have numerous typos and missing text. Purchasers can download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. Not indexed. Not illustrated. 1820 edition. Excerpt: ...were removed hither in the year 1750, at the expense of Sir John Cotton, of Stratton, Bart. The famous Sigenm Inscription, bequeathed to the Society by Edward Wortley Montague, is preserved with these rarities, together with a bust of that eccentric character, executed at the the expense of his sister Mary, Countess of Bute, by Scheemaker. Here is likewise an ancient stone, with a Greek inscription, brought from the Archipelago, and lately presented to the College b.y Mr..Hawkins of Cornwall, A. M. and a Roman miliary, given by Richard Gough, Esq. The latter gift was accompanied by a long Latin letter, the substance of which has been thus translated by the present Master: The Roman milestone, presented to Trinity College May the 27th, 1799, was found on digging a drain near Water Newton, about five miles from Stilton. It bears the name of the Emperor MARCUS-ANmUs FLORIANUs, who succeeded his brother Tacitus in the year of our Lord 276, and reigned only two or three months, being murdered by his own soldiers. From the short period of this Emperor s reign, it is probable that this mile-stone is the only memorial of i him in England. It is certainly a scarce and valuable relic of antiquity. The inscription is 1523 years old." Beneath the Library is a spacious piazza, from which three wrought iron gates open towards the river. Over the latter is an elegant cycloidical stone bridge of three arches, designed and executed by the late Mr. James Essex, F. S. A. This leads to the Walks, which are about one third of a mile in circumference, nd are skirted with chesnut and lime-trees. The vista of the middle walk is particularly beautiful, from the limes having soared to a great height, and at the intersection of their branches assume the...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 66 pages
  • 189 x 246 x 4mm | 136g
  • Rarebooksclub.com
  • Miami Fl, United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1236611004
  • 9781236611000