Tomorrow

Tomorrow : The spellbinding historical tale for readers who love The Night Circus and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock

3.88 (2,462 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$15.94

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'Bask in the brilliance . . . Golden Age Amsterdam, Versailles, the court of Charles I - it's armchair travel with a unique companion' Mail on Sunday

A spellbinding and beautifully written story of courage and devotion, for fans of historical and magical fiction like The Night Circus, The Binding and The Girl in the Tower.
________________

Valentyne has lived many lives - physician, philosopher, soldier - but his defining work has been his ability to stop the clock. He has lived for centuries, as has his dog, Tomorrow.

Inseparable, they've voyaged across Europe, using their time wisely. They've attended royalty in a dozen courts, healed soldiers on a hundred battlefields, and met with the greatest minds of the Renaissance. Until one day, in watery Venice, Valentyne vanishes without trace.

Broken-hearted, Tomorrow begins a search that will endure for centuries. But as the continent collapses into war, he must risk everything to find his master - or lose him forever.
____________

'Moving and tender. I was captivated by its charm from the beginning' Rachel Joyce, bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

'Tomorrow is an epic tale of love, of courage, of hope' London Evening Standard

'What a novel! Ambitious and wonderfully achieved. A book to read again and again' Michael Morpurgo, bestselling author of War Horse

'A tale of love and unbreakable bonds' New York Post

'Definitely - HIGHLY - worth the read!' Seth Meyers

'Original, ambitious, moving' Stylist
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 144 x 222 x 30mm | 461g
  • Michael Joseph Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0718183894
  • 9780718183899
  • 1,084,658

Review quote

Bask in the brilliance . . . Golden Age Amsterdam, Versailles, the court of Charles I - it's armchair travel with a unique companion * The Mail on Sunday * Original, ambitious, moving * Stylist * A stunning and captivating tale * The Sun * My heart swelled with FEELINGS! -- Sarra Manning Ornate, vivid, deeply coloured, and so precise I could smell and taste the world . . . the story of a dog crossing continents and centuries in search of the man he loves is moving and tender. I was captivated by its charm from the beginning -- Rachel Joyce * Sunday Times bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry * It's a rich and complex tale, beautifully told. Historic detail and dog-like thinking are vividly conveyed, carrying the reader along. It is a joy to read. It raises deep questions about what it means to be human * Sussex Life * A tale of love and unbreakable bonds * New York Post * A grand sweep of adventure and travel, war and romance, and a rich exploration of love, life and loyalty * National Public Radio * Dog lovers will want to have this heartbreaking, century spanning novel for their next discovery * Entertainment Weekly * Beautiful. Rich in perseverance, love and the sweetness of life * Kirkus Reviews * A lyrical commentary on war, rivalry, sacrifice, and above all else, loyalty * Publishers Weekly * Timeless. Humanity's foibles and failings are on full display. This soulful debut is a charmer * Booklist * With a hint of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, Tomorrow confronts big questions about life's purpose and celebrates life's pleasures * Bookpage * Damian Dibben's novel is guaranteed to make you shed a tear . . . sure to appeal to readers who enjoy fiction embedded in history * Heart * The story of a dog that doesn't die, of the wonders he'd seen, and the horrors, who lost his master a hundred years ago and has been searching for him ever since, Tomorrow is an epic tale of love, of courage, of hope * London Evening Standard * What a novel! Ambitious and wonderfully achieved. A book to read again and again * Michael Morpurgo, bestselling author of War Horse * Definitely - HIGHLY - worth the read! * Seth Meyers *
show more

About Damian Dibben

Damian Dibben's novels have been translated into twenty-seven languages and published in over forty countries. Tomorrow is his first book for adults, having written the internationally acclaimed children's series, The History Keepers. Previously, he worked as a screenwriter and actor on projects as diverse as The Phantom of the Opera, Puss in Boots and Young Indiana Jones. He is a patron for the Dogs for Good charity and lives on London's South Bank, with his partner, Ali, and their dogs, Dudley, Daphne and Velvet.
show more

Rating details

2,462 ratings
3.88 out of 5 stars
5 30% (740)
4 38% (943)
3 23% (576)
2 6% (157)
1 2% (46)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X