Tomorrow

Tomorrow : The spellbinding historical tale for readers who love The Night Circus and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock

3.93 (833 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.45

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'Ornate, vivid, deeply coloured, and so precise I could smell and taste the world . . . the story of a dog crossing continents and centuries in search of the man he loves is moving and tender. I was captivated by its charm from the beginning' Rachel Joyce

'What a novel! Ambitious and wonderfully achieved. A book to read again and again' Michael Morpurgo, bestselling author of War Horse
________________

Tomorrow is a spellbinding story of courage and devotion, of humanity across the ages, and the unbreakable bond between two souls.

A winter's night, Venice, 1815.

A 217-year-old-dog is searching for his lost master.

So begins the journey of Tomorrow, a dog who must travel through the gilded courts of kings and the brutal battlefields of Europe in search of the man who granted him immortality.

But Tomorrow's journey is also a race against time. Danger stalks his path, and in the shadows lurks an old enemy. Before his pursuer can reach him, he must find his master - or lose him forever.

________________

'The story of a dog that doesn't die, of the wonders he'd seen, and the horrors, who lost his master a hundred years ago and has been searching for him ever since, Tomorrow is an epic tale of love, of courage, of hope' London Evening Standard

'Golden age Amsterdam, Versailles, the court of Charles I. Travel with a unique companion & bask in the brilliance' Mail on Sunday

'A tale of love and unbreakable bonds' New York Post

'Definitely - HIGHLY - worth the read!' Seth Meyers

'Original, ambitious, moving' Stylist
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 144 x 222 x 30mm | 461g
  • Michael Joseph Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0718183894
  • 9780718183899
  • 585,523

Review quote

Definitely - HIGHLY - worth the read! * Seth Meyers * What a novel! Ambitious and wonderfully achieved. A book to read again and again * Michael Morpurgo, bestselling author of War Horse * The story of a dog that doesn't die, of the wonders he'd seen, and the horrors, who lost his master a hundred years ago and has been searching for him ever since, Tomorrow is an epic tale of love, of courage, of hope * London Evening Standard * Damian Dibben's novel is guaranteed to make you shed a tear . . . sure to appeal to readers who enjoy fiction embedded in history * Heart * With a hint of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, Tomorrow confronts big questions about life's purpose and celebrates life's pleasures * Bookpage * Timeless. Humanity's foibles and failings are on full display. This soulful debut is a charmer * Booklist * A lyrical commentary on war, rivalry, sacrifice, and above all else, loyalty * Publishers Weekly * Beautiful. Rich in perseverance, love and the sweetness of life * Kirkus Reviews * Dog lovers will want to have this heartbreaking, century spanning novel for their next discovery * Entertainment Weekly * A grand sweep of adventure and travel, war and romance, and a rich exploration of love, life and loyalty * National Public Radio * A tale of love and unbreakable bonds * New York Post * It's a rich and complex tale, beautifully told. Historic detail and dog-like thinking are vividly conveyed, carrying the reader along. It is a joy to read. It raises deep questions about what it means to be human * Sussex Life * Ornate, vivid, deeply coloured, and so precise I could smell and taste the world . . . the story of a dog crossing continents and centuries in search of the man he loves is moving and tender. I was captivated by its charm from the beginning -- Rachel Joyce * Sunday Times bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry * My heart swelled with FEELINGS! -- Sarra Manning A stunning and captivating tale * The Sun * Original, ambitious, moving * Stylist * Golden age Amsterdam, Versailles, the court of Charles I - it's armchair travel with a unique companion * The Mail on Sunday *
show more

About Damian Dibben

Damian Dibben's novels have been translated into twenty-seven languages and published in over forty countries. Tomorrow is his first book for adults, having written the internationally acclaimed children's series, The History Keepers. Previously, he worked as a screenwriter and actor on projects as diverse as The Phantom of the Opera, Puss in Boots and Young Indiana Jones. He is a patron for the Dogs for Good charity and lives on London's South Bank, with his partner, Ali, and their dogs, Dudley, Daphne and Velvet.
show more

Rating details

833 ratings
3.93 out of 5 stars
5 33% (275)
4 37% (306)
3 22% (187)
2 6% (50)
1 2% (15)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X