A Tiny Piece of Sky

A Tiny Piece of Sky

3.83 (115 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$8.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A summer story about sisters, spies, and World War II in the USA, for fans of Richard Peck, Bette Greene, and the Penderwicks sisters!

Frankie Baum lives in Maryland, a world away from all the evil that Hitler is enacting in Europe. She's just busy trying to figure out how to escape the curse of having been born the third sister in her family. When her German-born father opens a new restaurant, though, some folks in town refuse to support him, claiming that he's a Nazi spy. Frankie begins to wonder whether maybe they have a point, and decides to solve the mystery herself. As Frankie works in the restaurant kitchen--alongside African-American cooks and under the supervision of a racist manager--she begins to see more clearly what baseless discrimination looks like. And as the restaurant suffers from the allegations against Mr. Baum, Frankie takes it upon herself to save her father's dream.


ÂThrough warm, funny characters, Shawn Stout builds a riveting bridge from the past that sheds light on today. Wholly memorable.ÂÂRita Williams-Garcia, Coretta Scott King Author Award winner for P.S. Be Eleven 
show more

Product details

  • 9+
  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 128.52 x 196.85mm | 113g
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0147515270
  • 9780147515278

About Shawn Stout

Shawn K. Stout (www.shawnkstout.com) grew up in Hagerstown, Maryland, the same town where A Tiny Piece of Sky takes place, but she did her growing up more than forty years after the events in this story occur. She is the author of the Not-So-Ordinary Girl series and the Penelope Crumb series and has an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Shawn K. Stout lives with her family in Maryland. You can follow her on Twitter at @shawnkstout.
show more

Review quote

Praise for A Tiny Piece of Sky:

“Through warm, funny characters, Shawn Stout builds a riveting bridge from the past that sheds light on today. Wholly memorable.”—Rita Williams-Garcia, Coretta Scott King Author Award winner for P.S. Be Eleven 

"Stout uses an archly chummy direct address at several points, successfully and humorously breaking up tension in this cleareyed look at bad behavior by society....Successfully warmhearted and child-centered."—Kirkus Reviews 

"Through Frankie's thoughtful insights, Stout addresses injustices such as racism and xenophobia without turning didactic...and the conclusion is a realistic mix of bittersweet and heartwarming."—Publishers Weekly

"This is a solid, engaging tale of historical fiction."—Booklist 

"Fans of Augusta Scattergood’s Glory Be as well as those of Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwicks series will enjoy this slice of history. A solid piece of historical fiction to add to middle grade collections."—School Library Journal 

"Tackling race, social justice, and even death, this well-paced novel will find the right audience among readers wanting fairness with their historical fiction."—BCCB  

"Young teens will enjoy Frankie’s spirit and humor while learning a little bit about people and prejudice along the way."—VOYA 

"In this coming-of-age story, Frankie sees people for who they really are, despite skin color or nationality. Readers who enjoy historical fiction will gravitate to this story."—SLC 

“Shawn Stout's Frankie Baum is that rare creation: a character so real, so true, we don't just feel we know her—we are her. Irrepressible Frankie meets issues like prejudice and loyalty head on, in a story both highly entertaining and deeply thought-provoking. She may be #3 in her family, but she'll be #1 in the hearts of all who read this book.”—Tricia Springstubb, author of What Happened on Fox Street

“At turns hilarious, at turns heartbreaking, Shawn Stout’s story shows us the damage that a whisper campaign can do to a family and a community, and at the same time shows us, each of us, a way to find our hearts. Frankie Baum is a hero from a distant time and yet a hero for all times, the kind of hero who never gets old. I loved this book from the very beginning to the very end.”—Kathi Appelt, author of the National Book Award finalist and Newbery Honor book The Underneath 
show more

Rating details

115 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 25% (29)
4 42% (48)
3 25% (29)
2 7% (8)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X