Time Out!

Time Out!

2.78 (127 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This imaginative picture book, filled with rocket ships and dreams of flying to the moon, is perfect for fans of Not A Box and Harold and the Purple Crayon. CRASH! A young boy has made a mess, and his mother sends him to his room for a Time Out. But is Time Out really such a punishment? Not when you have a spaceship to board, a starry sky to visit, and a moon to circle around! With a bedroom full of boxes-turned-spaceship, an off-page mother counting down the Time Out, and a little boy who simply refuses to sit still, this adorable picture book celebrates imagination and brings readers along on a trip through the outer reaches of our planet and our minds. Praise for Time Out ★ "Barba's artwork weds Miro's palette to James Marshall's glee, and her bold black lines are fueled by imaginative power."--Publishers Weekly, starred review "Totally fun, visually startling, and a paean to creative thinking."--Kirkus Reviews Praise for When Your Elephant Comes to Play "An excellent addition to any collection, this appealing tale is full of humor and easily extends imaginative play."--Kirkus "A story as irrepressible as the cross-species pals it stars."--Publishers Weekly "A pleasant read about a little boy's big imagination, with creative, colorful spreads that will stay with readers long after the story ends."--Booklist "A fun addition for picture book collections." --School Library Journal
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 32 pages
  • 212 x 261 x 13mm | 350g
  • Philomel Books,U.S.
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS
  • 0399163042
  • 9780399163043

Review quote

Praise for Time Out ★ "Barba's artwork weds Miro's palette to James Marshall's glee, and her bold black lines are fueled by imaginative power."--Publishers Weekly, starred review "Totally fun, visually startling, and a paean to creative thinking."--Kirkus Reviews

Praise for When Your Elephant Comes to Play "An excellent addition to any collection, this appealing tale is full of humor and easily extends imaginative play."--Kirkus "A story as irrepressible as the cross-species pals it stars."--Publishers Weekly "A pleasant read about a little boy's big imagination, with creative, colorful spreads that will stay with readers long after the story ends."--Booklist "A fun addition for picture book collections." --School Library Journal
show more

About Ale Barba

Ale Barba (www.AleBarba.com) has been making art with a variety of mediums for as long as she can remember. She has been published in the Spanish language in Mexico, Denmark, and Colombia, and her work has twice been recognized by the National Council for Culture in Mexico. She is also the author of When Your Elephant Comes to Play, which was her U.S., English-language debut. Ale lives in Guadalajara, Mexico.
show more

Rating details

127 ratings
2.78 out of 5 stars
5 4% (5)
4 19% (24)
3 35% (45)
2 35% (45)
1 6% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X