The Tiger at Midnight

The Tiger at Midnight

3.73 (4,686 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.73 (4,686 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
May not be delivered to the United States by Christmas May not be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

The first book in an epic heart-pounding fantasy trilogy inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Renée Ahdieh.

* A Book Riot Most Anticipated Novel of 2019 * B&N Top 50 Most Anticipated Novels *

A broken bond. A dying land. A cat-and-mouse game that can only end in bloodshed.

Esha lost everything in the royal coup--and as the legendary rebel known as the Viper, she's made the guilty pay. Now she's been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha.

Kunal has been a soldier since childhood. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path--even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has only been growing more volatile.

When Esha and Kunal's paths cross one fated night, an impossible chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they're calling the shots, but they're not the only players moving the pieces.

As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both the soldier and the rebel must decide where their loyalties lie: with the lives they've killed to hold on to or with the love that's made them dream of something more.
show more

Product details

  • 12-15
  • Hardback | 496 pages
  • 142.24 x 208.28 x 45.72mm | 544.31g
  • English
  • 0062869213
  • 9780062869210
  • 466,636

Back cover copy

A broken bond. A dying land. A cat-and-mouse game that can only end in bloodshed.

ESHA is a legend, but no one knows. It's only in the shadows that she moonlights as the Viper, the rebels' highly skilled assassin. She's devoted her life to avenging what she lost in the royal coup, and now she's been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha.

KUNAL has been a soldier since childhood, training morning and night to uphold the power of King Vardaan. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path--even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has been growing only more volatile.

Then Esha's and Kunal's paths cross--and an unimaginable chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they're calling the shots, but they're not the only players moving the pieces. As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both rebel and soldier must make unforgivable choices.

Drawing inspiration from ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology, the first book in Swati Teerdhala's debut fantasy trilogy captivates with electric romance, stunning action, and the fierce bonds that hold people together--and drive them apart.
show more

Review quote

"Thrilling, entertaining, and beautifully written, this is one adventure YA fans won't want to miss." -- Buzzfeed

"Teerdhala's debut, immersed in Indian fantasy, features two compelling protagonists who must question their loyalties and decide what they're willing to sacrifice for the chance at a new future. Fast-paced action and a budding romance between emotionally layered characters make this a promising start to a gripping new series." -- ALA Booklist

"[A] vibrantly imagined South Indian-inspired trilogy opener...Teerdhala adds plenty of surprises to her finely limned characters to produce a lush fantasy." -- Publishers Weekly

"[A] lush blend of folklore, fantasy, and romance." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Set in a fantastical South Asia, this combination of romance, action, and magic will appeal to fans of Sabaa Tahir and Renée Ahdieh. A strong choice for YA fantasy shelves." -- School Library Journal

"Cat-and-mouse maneuvering between assassin Esha and reluctant soldier Kunal will hold you in tantalizing suspense in this searing debut exploring love, loss, and destiny. The Tiger at Midnight is as alluring and fearless as its characters." -- Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon

"A deliciously twisty cat-and-mouse story that had me racing through the pages. I love stories that challenge their protagonists' beliefs, and both Esha and Kunal face complex, heart-breaking decisions in their journey to discover both themselves and each other." -- Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

"Follow Esha and Kunal on a dangerous journey through lush jungles and bustling cities, where the stakes are life and death, and victory comes at a terrible price. Teerdhala has written a masterful debut full of breathless twists and turns and a romance to ignite the senses." -- Axie Oh, author of Rebel Seoul

"Esha and Kunal cross paths throughout Jansa, engaging in banter and developing a delicate code of honor as they fight, save, betray and escape one another. A fascinating world with a landscape dependent on a mystical blood bond between humans and nature surrounds the characters..." -- BookPage
show more

Rating details

4,686 ratings
3.73 out of 5 stars
5 24% (1,125)
4 37% (1,745)
3 28% (1,335)
2 8% (379)
1 2% (102)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X