Tidesong

Tidesong

3.94 (2,263 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and The Tea Dragon Society, this is a magically heartwarming graphic novel about self-acceptance and friendship.

Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandmother pressure her to attend the Royal Magic Academy--the best magic school in the realm--even though her magic is shaky at best. To train for her entrance exams, Sophie is sent to relatives she's never met.

Cousin Sage and Great-Aunt Lan seem more interested in giving Sophie chores than in teaching her magic. Frustrated, Sophie attempts magic on her own, but the spell goes wrong, and she accidentally entangles her magic with the magic of a young water dragon named Lir.

Lir is trapped on land and can't remember where he came from. Even so, he's everything Sophie isn't--beloved by Sophie's family and skilled at magic. With his help, Sophie might just ace her entrance exams, but that means standing in the way of Lir's attempts to regain his memories. Sophie knows what she's doing is wrong, but without Lir's help, can she prove herself?

* Featured on the Today Show * An SLJ Best Book of the Year * A Nerdist Best Comic of the Year * A Book Riot Best Book of the Year * A Mighty Girl's Best Book of the Year * An ALA Best Graphic Novel for Children *
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 240 pages
  • 148 x 204 x 26mm | 544g
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0062955802
  • 9780062955807
  • 499,522

Review quote

"Sophie's struggles and growth will resonate with younger readers, especially those who love the "Tea Dragon Society" and the films of Hayao Miyazaki. Relatable and -heartwarming." -- School Library Journal (starred review)

"Reminiscent of Kiki's Delivery Service, the colorful panels are filled with movement, and the manga-style art pops. A fun, fantastical romp." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Xu gives her solo debut fresh allure with richly evoked Chinese mythology-inspired dragons and a supporting cast of idiosyncratic, endearing characters." -- Publishers Weekly

"A perfect fit for fans of Studio Ghibli movies." -- Booklist

"Resplendent hues, big-eyed magical creatures, and vivid setting details enhance this lush graphic novel, and Xu blends elements from Chinese mythology seamlessly with a magical, witchy world." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
show more

Rating details

2,263 ratings
3.94 out of 5 stars
5 27% (605)
4 46% (1,036)
3 23% (527)
2 4% (80)
1 1% (15)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X