The Thrill of the Haunt

The Thrill of the Haunt

4.12 (919 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Alison Kerby's guesthouse is already crowded with spirits. The last thing she needs is a whole new batch of haunts settling in. As Alison's reputation as "the ghost lady" grows, so does her business--and not always in a way she'd like. Tourists may be flocking to her guesthouse for a chance to glimpse her resident spirits, but her special abilities are also bringing unwanted private investigation cases to her door. And she has no choice but to take a case when the local homeless man is found murdered under mysterious circumstances, just hours after asking for help in exorcising a specter. If that weren't enough to deal with, Alison's other PI case soon turns fatal, as the mistress she was spying on for a jealous wife turns up dead as well. The cases seem like they couldn't possibly be linked, but with a mountain of clues, motives and suspects--both living and dead--Alison will have to think fast before someone else checks out for good...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 293 pages
  • 104 x 170 x 25mm | 136g
  • United States
  • English
  • 0425252396
  • 9780425252390
  • 368,769

Review quote

Praise for the Haunted Guesthouse Mysteries: "If you love classic caper comedies, as I do, you'll have a real affinity for the tart-tongued Alison Kerby and her lively entourage."--Claudia Bishop, author of the Hemlock Falls Mysteries "A wonderful new series...a laugh-out-loud, fast-paced and charming tale that will keep you turning pages and guessing until the very end."--New York Times bestselling author Kate Carlisle "Fans of Charlaine Harris and Sarah Graves will relish this original, laugh-laden paranormal mystery."--Julia Spencer-Fleming "An entertaining and spellbinding tale."--The Mystery Gazette "Great fun with a tinge of salt air."--The Mystery Reader (Four stars) "An entertaining read that never disappoints."--Night Owl Reviews (Four stars) "E.J. Copperman serves readers a cocktail of haunted humor and a killer mystery ... Not only is Alison's dry sense of humor and hilarious commentary on other characters enough to give this book ten stars, but even the ghosts and their former lives are written to perfection."--Fresh Fiction
show more

About E J Copperman

E.J. Copperman is the national bestselling author of the Haunted Guesthouse Mystery series, including Chance of a Ghost, Old Haunts, An Uninvited Ghost, and Night of the Living Deed.
show more

Rating details

919 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 36% (333)
4 43% (398)
3 18% (166)
2 2% (17)
1 1% (5)

Our customer reviews

The Thrill of the Haunt By: E.J. Copperman Copyright: November 2013 Publisher: Berkley Alison Kerbyâ??s guesthouse is already crowded with spirits. The last thing she needs is a whole new batch of haunts settling in. As Alisonâ??s reputation as â??the ghost ladyâ?? grows, so does her businessâ??and not always in a way sheâ??d like. Tourists may be flocking to her guesthouse for a chance to glimpse her resident spirits, but her special abilities are also bringing unwanted private investigation cases to her door. And she has no choice but to take a case when the local homeless man is found murdered under mysterious circumstances, just hours after asking for help in exorcising a specter. If that werenâ??t enough to deal with, Alisonâ??s other PI case soon turns fatal, as the mistress she was spying on for a jealous wife turns up dead as well. The cases seem like they couldnâ??t possibly be linked, but with a mountain of clues, motives and suspectsâ??both living and deadâ??Alison will have to think fast before someone else checks out for goodâ?¦ My Thoughts: Allison, her daughter and their resident ghosts are caught up in the life and death of a homeless man who had asked for Alisonâ??s help in getting rid of the ghosts that were following him around and driving him a bit around the bend. She begged off and refused to help. If only sheâ??d gotten involved her life would not have gotten so hectic and full of danger. This series is one of my favorites in the paranormal cozy genre. The author really does keep it real, even with the addition of ghosts in her guest house. Letâ??s face it many of us have felt ghostly or spirit sensations at one time or another and just shrugged it off. Heck, we had a family ghost living with us for years. So I can enjoy this book along with the rest of the series knowing it all could actually happen one day. FTC Full Disclosure: I received this book as a gift from a friend and decided that it was well worth reviewing.show more
by Nora-Adrienne Deret
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X