Three Novels by Cesar Aira

Three Novels by Cesar Aira

3.78 (64 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$18.75

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Three novels by Cesar Aira combines three short novels by the cult Argentinian writer in one beautifully designed box set.

Irreverent, playful, provocative and prolific, Argentinian author Cesar Aira has written over seventy books and has been acknowledged internationally to be one of the most original and provocative authors in world literature. Collected here are three of his novellas, to be published for the very first time in the UK.

In Ghosts, an immigrant worker's family are squatting on the haunted construction site of a luxury condominium building. All of the workmen and their families see the ghosts which float around the place, but one teenage girl's interest in them becomes so intense that her mother realizes her life is in the balance. An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter tells of a point in the life of German painter Johann Moritz Rugendas, when he visits Latin America to paint its spectacular landscapes. There, a strange episode interrupts his trip and irreversibly marks him for life. And in The Literary Conference, a young translator called Cesar Aira travels to a literary conference, intent on world domination . . .

Praise for Cesar Aira:

'Once you've started reading Aira, you don't want to stop' Roberto Bolano

'Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald' Los Angeles Times

Cesar Aira was born in Coronel Pringles, Argentina, in 1949, and has lived in Buenos Aires since 1967. One of the most prolific writers in Argentina, Aira has published more than seventy books.
show more

Product details

  • Mixed media product | 336 pages
  • 116 x 179 x 27mm | 280g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0241965969
  • 9780241965962
  • 274,845

About Cesar Aira

Cesar Aira was born in Coronel Pringles, Argentina, in 1949, and has lived in Buenos Aires since 1967. One of the most prolific writers in Argentina, Aira has published more than seventy books.
show more

Rating details

64 ratings
3.78 out of 5 stars
5 31% (20)
4 34% (22)
3 19% (12)
2 12% (8)
1 3% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X