A Thousand Ships

A Thousand Ships

4.2 (249 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War' Madeline Miller, author of Circe

One of the Guardian's 'Best Books of 2019'

In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker.

This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of all of them. . .

In the middle of the night, Creusa wakes to find her beloved Troy engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of brutal conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over, and the Greeks are victorious. Over the next few hours, the only life she has ever known will turn to ash . . .

The devastating consequences of the fall of Troy stretch from Mount Olympus to Mount Ida, from the citadel of Troy to the distant Greek islands, and across oceans and sky in between. These are the stories of the women embroiled in that legendary war and its terrible aftermath, as well as the feud and the fatal decisions that started it all. . .

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, A Thousand Ships gives voices to the women, girls and goddesses who, for so long, have been silent.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 143 x 224 x 38mm | 500g
  • Mantle
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1509836195
  • 9781509836192
  • 11,769

Review quote

Haynes expertly crafts an emotional and vivid historical tale with high stakes and female empowerment at its core * Woman's Own * If you are new to myths, then this is a learned, well-fashioned introduction, with many shining moments of subtle power * Spectator * Haynes takes the baton from Renault and runs with it. Her modern take on antiquity is exquisitely informed without ever being research-heavy . . . Glorious! -- Damien Barr This subversive reseeing of the classics is a many-layered delight * Guardian * Breathtaking . . . Her writing isn't merely clever, or elegant, or (at times) extremely funny - though it is all of those things. It's also viscerally vivid. -- Catherine Nixey Here, in this treat of a book, the women take centre stage - and how brilliantly . . . Natalie Haynes brings them to witty, lyrical, scintillating life . . . A book to both savour and devour -- Suzannah Lipscomb A joy to read: fast paced, cracking with emotion and tension -- Professor Michael Scott Elegant, intelligent . . . Haynes combines a wide-ranging knowledge of the original myths with a gift for compelling narrative * The Times * The forgotten women are vividly brought to life in this moving, intelligent and witty book -- Martha Kearney, BBC Radio 4 Absorbing and fiercely feminist * Guardian * Haynes is master of her trade . . . She succeeds in breathing warm life into some of our oldest stories * Telegraph * Natalie Haynes is swiftly becoming this generation's Mary Renault; her retelling of the Trojan war from an all-female perspective, A Thousand Ships, is her best yet. * Observer * With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War. Her thoughtful portraits will linger with you long after the book is finished -- Madeline Miller, author of Circe
show more

About Natalie Haynes

Natalie Haynes is a writer and broadcaster. She is the author of The Amber Fury, which was shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize; The Children of Jocasta, a feminist retelling of the Oedipus and Antigone stories; and a non-fiction book about Ancient History, The Ancient Guide to Modern Life. She has written and presented four series of the BBC Radio 4 show, Natalie Haynes Stands Up for the Classics. In 2015, she was awarded the Classical Association Prize for her work in bringing Classics to a wider audience. A Thousand Ships is her third novel.
show more

Rating details

249 ratings
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 43% (107)
4 39% (98)
3 14% (35)
2 3% (7)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X