A Thousand Pearls (for a Thousand Pennies)

A Thousand Pearls (for a Thousand Pennies)

3.8 (62 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

List price: US$14.95

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

In the tradition of Joe Brainard's "I Remember" and Georges Perec's "Je me souviens," this delightful "novel" offers a thousand answers to the question, "What are you thinking?" (Or, as translator Ian Monk puts it: "Penny for them?") The answers are spontaneous, revealing, ominous, insignificant, grotesque, amusing, lecherous, tragic and trivial by turns, and lovable in their cheerful imperfection. This is a book about the basics: love, sexuality, death, and all the other things that lurk in our everyday thoughts.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 175 pages
  • 142 x 204 x 13mm | 231g
  • Normal, IL, United States
  • English
  • 1564786366
  • 9781564786364
  • 1,571,081

About Herve Le Tellier

Herve Le Tellier est ecrivain, poete, membre de l'Oulipo. Son precedent roman, "Assez parle d'amour" (12 000 exemplaires vendus, traduits dans une dizaine de pays, dont les Etats-Unis), a recu un accueil tres chaleureux. Herve Le Tellier has been a member of the Oulipo since 1992. His books include a collection of unusual poetry, Les Opossums celebres (The Famous Opossums), novels: Je m'attache tres facilement (I Easily Become Attached to People), which was awarded the Prix du Roman d'amour, Assez parle d'amour (Enough Said About Love) and the stories The Sextine Chapel.
show more

Rating details

62 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 18% (11)
4 50% (31)
3 27% (17)
2 5% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X