The Thousand Names

The Thousand Names

4.05 (16,747 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$24.03

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

In the desert colony of Khandar, a dark and mysterious magic, hidden for centuries, is about to emerge from darkness. Marcus d'Ivoire, senior captain of the Vordanai Colonials, is resigned to serving out his days in a sleepy, remote outpost, when a rebellion leaves him in charge of a demoralised force in a broken down fortress. Winter Ihernglass, fleeing her past and masquerading as a man, just wants to go unnoticed. Finding herself promoted to a command, she must rise to the challenge and fight impossible odds to survive. Their fates rest in the hands of an enigmatic new Colonel, sent to restore order while following his own mysterious agenda into the realm of the supernatural.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 528 pages
  • 161 x 240 x 47mm | 808g
  • Del Rey
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • map (black and white)
  • 0091949890
  • 9780091949891
  • 674,785

Back cover copy

“Give me the Thousand Names.”



The ancient voice trailed off into a fading whisper.



“As you wish…”



A new sound filled the cavern. A hiss, rising from the shadows in every direction at once, like the sound of a kettle just before it rises to a shriek. There were a hundred kettles, a thousand, echoing and re-echoing until the whole vast temple seemed to be alive.



“Kill them,” Mother’s voice said, echoing louder and louder until it thundered through the hiss of the smoke.



“Kill them all!”
show more

Review Text

Extremely strong debut, flintlock fantasy at its best ... there’s a new military fiction cowboy in town and his name is Django.
show more

Review quote

"The Coolest Fantasy Story You'll Read This Week" i09 "an excellent book" SFX "A spectacular epic" Fantasy Book Critic "Exceptional military fantasy" -- Jason M. Hough National Bestselling author of The Darwin Elevator "Wexler's polished military fantasy, first in the Shadow Campaign series, distinguishes itself from other epic doorstops with its unique setting, intricate plotting, and layered characters...This excellent series debut is for fans of Peter Brett, Daniel Abraham, and Joe Abercrombie." Booklist
show more

About Django Wexler

Django Wexler was born in San Francisco and raised in Westchester, New York. While attending Carnegie Mellon University for computer science and creative writing, he published his first two novels, Memories of Empire and Shinigami, with small publisher Medallion Press. He currently works for Microsoft in Seattle, Washington.
show more

Rating details

16,747 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 33% (5,561)
4 44% (7,451)
3 17% (2,908)
2 4% (603)
1 1% (224)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X