A Thousand Fires
22%
off

A Thousand Fires

3.41 (339 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Shannon Price's A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut--think The Outsiders meets The Iliad--that's perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth. 10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl's Epic Quest... Valerie Simons knows the Wars are dangerous--her little brother was killed by the Boars two years ago. But nothing will sway Valerie from joining the elite and beautiful Herons with her boyfriend Matthew to avenge her brother. But when Jax, the volatile and beyond charismatic leader of the Stags, promises her revenge, Valerie is torn between old love and new loyalty.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 146 x 217 x 30mm | 387g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250301998
  • 9781250301994
  • 1,739,469

Review quote

A Thousand Fires pulls you in close and shows you the essence of what it means to keep fighting. Shannon Price is one to watch. --Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds Brutal and beautiful, A THOUSAND FIRES broke my heart. A fast-paced tragedy of love, betrayal, and vengeance. --Heidi Heilig, author of For a Muse of Fire Modern, unflinching and filled with haunting, lingering imagery, A Thousand Fires gives the story of the Iliad the bare-knuckled update it deserves. --Colleen Oakes, author of The Black Coats Fast-paced... Vivid descriptions and intricate details bring San Francisco to life ... A promising debut. --Kirkus A heart-wrenching tale... action-packed and intense... A fantastic read. --School Library Journal

Fans of stories of factional conflict such as Veronica Roth's Divergent trilogy will feel right at home. --Booklist Price will have readers who prefer their action spiced with a dash of romance and a pinch of speculative fiction eating out of her hand. --Bookpage Packs an emotional wallop. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
show more

About Shannon Price

SHANNON PRICE is a proud Filipina-American and Bay Area native. She once led an a cappella group for three years despite not knowing how to read music, and she carries that same level of confidence in every area of her life. When not writing, she can be found watching baking shows, exploring old bookstores, and going to the beach as often as she can. A Thousand Fires is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

339 ratings
3.41 out of 5 stars
5 21% (70)
4 30% (101)
3 27% (90)
2 17% (56)
1 6% (22)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X