Thorn

Thorn

4.02 (8,338 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

For Princess Alyrra, choice is a luxury she's never had... until she's betrayed.
'THE BEST YA FANTASY BOOK I'VE READ THIS YEAR!' - neverjudgeabookbyitscover.co.uk

SEQUEL OUT NOW: The Theft of Sunlight - Kindle edition. Paperback available for pre-order, out 24th June 2021

Princess Alyrra has never enjoyed the security or power of her rank. Between her family's cruelty and the court's contempt, she has spent her life in the shadows. Forced to marry a powerful foreign prince, Alyrra embarks on a journey to meet her betrothed with little hope for a better future. But powerful men have powerful enemies - and now so does Alyrra.

Betrayed during a magical attack, her identity is switched with another woman's, giving Alyrra the first choice she's ever had: to start a new life for herself or fight for a prince she's never met. But Alyrra soon finds that Prince Kestrin is not at all what she expected. While walking away will cost Kestrin his life, returning to the court may cost Alyrra her own. As Alyrra is coming to realise, sometimes the hardest choice means learning to trust herself.

Inspired by The Goose Girl fairytale by the Brothers Grimm.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 512 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 28mm | 371g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1471408728
  • 9781471408724
  • 7,221

Review quote

I really enjoyed reading Alyrra's story which follows her as she grows in confidence and learns to trust in the courage of her convictions. * Mini Travellers * "This is how you survive: one breath to the next, refusing each thought as it comes to you. This is how you get through the worst of things." Khanani's retelling of "The Goose Girl" keeps the basics of the fairytale the same (a princess is sent to a kingdom to marry a prince but is betrayed and looses her title) but expands the story to include examinations of violence and its effects on main characters. It could be easy to dismiss Alyrra as just a weak and passive princess, but Khanani smartly delves into the realistic reactions and responses a person would have to trauma. * Book Riot * A dark, Middle-Eastern influenced retelling about dangerous secrets, false identities, delicious court intrigue and justice. ... Perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn. * Culture Fly *
show more

About Intisar Khanani

Intisar Khanani grew up a nomad and world traveller. Born in Wisconsin, she has lived in five different states as well as in Jeddah on the coast of the Red Sea. She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio, with her husband and two young daughters. Prior to publishing her novels, Intisar worked as a public health consultant on projects relating to infant mortality and minority health, which was as close as she could get to saving the world. Now she focuses her time on her two passions: raising her family and writing fantasy.


Find out more at booksbyintisar.com or on Twitter: @BooksByIntisar or Facebook: Booksbyintisar
show more

Rating details

8,338 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 34% (2,804)
4 42% (3,467)
3 19% (1,575)
2 5% (391)
1 1% (101)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X