This is How We Fly
13%
off

This is How We Fly

4.04 (44 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

17-year-old vegan feminist Ellen Lopez-Rourke has one muggy Houston summer left before college. She plans to spend every last moment with her two best friends before they go off to the opposite ends of Texas for school. But when Ellen is grounded for the entire summer by her (sometimes) evil stepmother, all her plans are thrown out the window.

Determined to do something with her time, Ellen (with the help of BFF Melissa) convinces her parents to let her join the local muggle Quidditch team. An all-gender, full-contact game, Quidditch isn't quite what Ellen expects. There's no flying, no magic, just a bunch of scrappy players holding PVC pipe between their legs and throwing dodgeballs. Suddenly Ellen is thrown into the very different world of sports- her life is all practices, training, and running with a group of Harry Potter fans.

Even as Melissa pulls away to pursue new relationships and their other BFF Xiumiao seems more interested in moving on from high school (and from Ellen), Ellen is steadily finding a place among her teammates. Maybe Quidditch is where she belongs.

But with her home life and friend troubles quickly spinning out of control--Ellen must fight for the future that she wants, now she's playing for keeps.

Filled with heart and humor, Anna Meriano's YA debut is perfect for fans of Dumplin' and Hot Dog Girl.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 464 pages
  • 1 x 1 x 1mm | 435.45g
  • Philomel Books,U.S.
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0593116879
  • 9780593116876
  • 1,349,424

Review quote

*Meriano's novel is a layered, skillful work that thoughtfully explores the complicated dynamics of a family in conflict due to divergent views of the world. . . .This clever, subtle reimagining of a beloved fairy tale is both subversive and empowering. Truly enchanting.--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) *Through a conversational first-person voice that firmly grounds the reader in the main character's inner tumult, Meriano portrays Ellen's heightened awareness and dedication to social equity and inclusion alongside the timeless sense of unease that comes with new beginnings and major change. Readers will find much to appreciate about Ellen's fresh, relatable journey to define herself on her own terms. --Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show more

About Anna Meriano

Anna Meriano grew up in Houston, Texas, with an older brother and a younger brother but (tragically) no sisters. She graduated from Rice University with a degree in English and earned her MFA in creative writing with an emphasis in writing for children from the New School in New York. She has taught creative writing and high school English and works as a writing tutor. Anna likes reading, knitting, playing full-contact quidditch, and translating English song lyrics into Spanish and vice versa. She's also the author of the Love Sugar Magic series.
show more

Rating details

44 ratings
4.04 out of 5 stars
5 39% (17)
4 34% (15)
3 23% (10)
2 2% (1)
1 2% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X