This Time of Dying
32%
off

This Time of Dying

3.43 (97 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

This work is suitable for readers of "Sebastian Faulks", Helen Dunmore's "Zennor in Darkness" and "The Siege", Rose Tremain's "The Way I Found Her", and Pat Barker's "Regeneration" trilogy. It is October 1918 and London is gathering in its dead. For Henry Speake, of Speake & Son Undertakers, laying to rest the shattered young bodies of those sent home from the Front to die has become a grimly familiar duty. But what he is seeing now, as influenza claims its victims with increasing speed and force, is something different; for the first time in his life, Henry feels afraid of death. Unable to share his fears with his waspish, disapproving sisters, Henry turns instead to Mrs Allen Thompson, a recently widowed school teacher, so beginning a friendship which gradually, stumblingly, pulls them in a direction neither has been prepared for.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 23mm | 280g
  • Portobello Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New ed
  • 1846270464
  • 9781846270468
  • 696,558

Review quote

"'Rich and absorbing... a five-star weepie' The Times"
show more

About Reina James

REINA JAMES lost two grandparents to the 1918 Spanish flu. This is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

97 ratings
3.43 out of 5 stars
5 19% (18)
4 32% (31)
3 28% (27)
2 18% (17)
1 4% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X