This Thing of Darkness
29%
off

This Thing of Darkness : Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series Book 4

4.29 (926 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A hanged man. A stolen painting. An impossible crime.

A marine engineer is found hanged in a locked apartment. Some artwork is stolen, then mysteriously returned. And a security guard is found dead at the base of a Welsh cliff.

When Fiona Griffiths is tasked to look through a stackload of cold cases, her bosses don't expect her to find anything of interest. But then she discovers that an impossible robbery really happened. That the supposed suicide was anything but. That the dead security guard was almost certainly murdered.

Before long, Fiona is embroiled in what will become the most terrifying case of her career so far - one that forces her to enter the heart of darkness, and a journey that will test her mental toughness to its very limits.

Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:

'A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist' The Seattle Times

'This cleverly plotted police procedural introduces a likeable, maverick detective destined for a bestseller following' Choice

'Compelling...a new crime talent to treasure' Daily Mail

'Gritty, compelling...a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year' USA Today

'An original and complex character; a different kind of policewoman. Fiona Griffiths is a truly fascinating character' Shots

Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:
1. Talking to the Dead
2. Love Story, With Murders
3. The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths
4. This Thing of Darkness
5. The Dead House
6. The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)

If you're looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you've just found it.

** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 512 pages
  • 131 x 198 x 41mm | 335g
  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1409152723
  • 9781409152729
  • 139,782

Review quote

Compelling...a new crime talent to treasure -- DAILY MAIL The easiest five stars I've ever awarded a book. Fiona Griffiths is by far the most original detective I've come across -- LORETTA MILAN A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist * THE SEATTLE TIMES * Gripping...Fiona Griffiths kept me hooked to the last page and left me hungry for more -- RACHEL ABBOTT Fiona Griffiths is one of the most unusual and engaging characters in British crime fiction. Those who haven't yet encountered Fiona will be drawn into a beautifully crafted world -- SINEAD CROWLEY One of the most interesting and complicated protagonists in current UK crime fiction. Truly unforgettable -- MICK HERRON Compelling and claustrophic, Without a doubt, Fiona Griffiths is one of crime's most memorable heroines -- SARAH HILARY In a word - brilliant. One of the most enjoyable crime novels I've read in a while -- JAMES OSWALD Intriguing and compelling - I love Fiona Griffiths -- SHARON BOLTON Praise for gripping, atmospheric crime thriller THE DEAD HOUSE: Chilling, atmospheric and so gripping it hurts. The Dead House is a masterpiece. You won't read a better crime novel this year -- MARK EDWARDS
show more

About Harry Bingham

I'm Harry Bingham. I write crime novels and love it. When I'm not doing that, I run the Writers' Workshop, a literary consultancy. I live in Oxfordshire, England, but I spent a lot of my childhood in Wales, where my crime novels are set. Things I love apart from writing: wild swimming, rock-climbing, walking and dogs. I'm married, have four kids, and I love my life.

To stay in touch visit www.harrybingham.com or on Twitter @harryonthebrink
show more

Rating details

926 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 47% (433)
4 40% (371)
3 10% (95)
2 2% (16)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X