This Rough Magic
47%
off

This Rough Magic

4.03 (5,200 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey to a Mediterranean island paradise in this tale of mystery, murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'Suspense and romance expertly mingled' Observer

'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent

Lucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby. But Lucy's hopes for rest and romance are shattered when a body washes up on the beach and she finds herself swept up in a chilling chain of events.

I shuddered, and drank my coffee, leaning back in my chair to gaze out across pine tops furry with gold towards the sparkling sea, and surrendering myself to the dreamlike feeling that marks the start of a holiday . . .


A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans

'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 28mm | 281.23g
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Digital original
  • 1444720503
  • 9781444720501
  • 65,094

Review quote

A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors. * Harriet Evans * She set the bench mark for pace, suspense and romance - with a great dollop of escapism as the icing * Elizabeth Buchan * A splendid book at any time * News of the World * Keeps one awake through the long night's journey into day * Guardian * Suspense and romance expertly mingled * Observer *
show more

About Mary Stewart

Mary Stewart was one of the 20th century's bestselling and best-loved novelists. She was born in Sunderland, County Durham in 1916, but lived for most of her life in Scotland, a source of much inspiration for her writing. Her first novel, Madam, Will You Talk? was published in 1955 and marked the beginning of a long and acclaimed writing career. In 1971 she was awarded the International PEN Association's Frederick Niven Prize for The Crystal Cave, and in 1974 the Scottish Arts Council Award for one of her children's books, Ludo and the Star Horse. She was married to the Scottish geologist Frederick Stewart, and died in 2014.
show more

Rating details

5,200 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 34% (1,760)
4 40% (2,072)
3 23% (1,186)
2 3% (152)
1 1% (30)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X