This Is Not the Jess Show

This Is Not the Jess Show

3.63 (3,886 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller.' Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times best-selling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star . The year is 1998: Titanic just won six Oscars, boy bands are dominating MTV s airwaves, and like any other teenager Jess Flynn is just trying to survive high school. Between a crush on her childhood best friend, overprotective parents, and her sister s worsening health, the only constant is her hometown of Swickley, which feels smaller by the day. Jess is resigned to her small-town life, until the day she discovers a mysterious device with an apple logo, causing her to question everything and everyone she s ever known. As more cracks appear in Jess s world, she faces a choice: can she live the rest of her life knowing it s a lie, or should she risk everything for the truth? A fast-paced, mind-bending YA thriller packed with 90s pop culture references and perfect for fans of Black Mirror, This Is Not the Jess Show will keep readers guessing until the very end. And don't miss the explosive and thrilling conclusion, This Is Not the Real World!
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 25mm | 290g
  • Philadelphia, United States
  • English
  • International edition
  • 9781683692133
  • 260,818

Review Text

I read this in a single, compulsive sitting. A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller about how our devices manipulate and exploit our closest relationships. Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star 

At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down. Tahereh Mafi, New York Times Bestselling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
Nostalgic, romantic, thrilling, and with an exciting twist, I devoured This Is Not The Jess Show and didn't want it to end! Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game  

A thrilling and thought-provoking ride." Kirkus Reviews
 
This is Not the Jess Show goes deep in exploring how people live their lives and create their own realities sometimes at a cost." Foreword Reviews

The fast-paced, intricate plot ramps up Jess's paranoia and frustration, both of which are vividly expressed through her first-person narrative. Booklist

A fun and thoughtful thriller; this YA novel will please fans of E. Lockhart and Kiera Cass." School Library Journal
show more

Review quote

A 2022 Hal Clement Notable Young Adult Book
Named one of Brightly's Best YA Books Being Published in 2021
One of New York Public Library's Best Books of 2021
A 2022-2023 South Carolina Young Adult Book Award Nominee

"It's a dark and distorted mirror of our own extremely strange times, perfect reading for anyone who wants to feel seen without necessarily needing to be looked at."-Shondaland

"I read this in a single, compulsive sitting. A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller about how our devices manipulate and exploit our closest relationships."-Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star

"At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down."-Tahereh Mafi, New York Times Bestselling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea

"Nostalgic, romantic, thrilling, and with an exciting twist, I devoured This Is Not The Jess Show and didn't want it to end!"-Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game

"I read this book in under 24 hours, if that tells you anything about how thrilling and addictive it is. It has so many smart, insightful things to say about celebrity culture and the entertainment industry."-The Nerd Daily

"A thrilling and thought-provoking ride."-Kirkus Reviews

"This is Not the Jess Show goes deep in exploring how people live their lives and create their own realities-sometimes at a cost."-Foreword Reviews

"The fast-paced, intricate plot ramps up Jess's paranoia and frustration, both of which are vividly expressed through her first-person narrative."-Booklist

"A fun and thoughtful thriller; this YA novel will please fans of E. Lockhart and Kiera Cass."-School Library Journal

"Fast paced and thrilling."-Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

"This young adult foray offers up surprising plot twists that keep you riveted and reading quickly, with the clever unfolding plot paralleling Jim Carey's The Truman Show."-Mom Central
show more

About Anna Carey

Anna Carey is the author of Blackbird, Deadfall, and the Eve trilogy. She lives in Los Angeles.
show more

Rating details

3,886 ratings
3.63 out of 5 stars
5 16% (608)
4 41% (1,608)
3 34% (1,330)
2 8% (300)
1 1% (40)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X