This Is Not the Jess Show

This Is Not the Jess Show

3.65 (1,949 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down. Tahereh Mafi, New York Times best-selling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea. A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller about how our devices manipulate and exploit our closest relationships. Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star. The year is 1998: Titanic just won 6 Oscars, boy bands are dominating MTV s airwaves, and like any other teenager Jess Flynn is just trying to survive high school. Between a crush on her childhood best friend, overprotective parents, and her sister s worsening health, the only constant is her hometown of Swickley, which feels smaller by the day. Jess is resigned to her small-town life, until the day she discovers a mysterious device with an apple logo, causing her to question everything and everyone she s ever known. As more cracks appear in Jess s world, she faces a choice: can she live the rest of her life knowing it s a lie or should she risk everything for the truth? A fast-paced, mind-bending YA thriller packed with 90s pop culture references and perfect for fans of Black Mirror, This Is Not the Jess Show will keep readers guessing until the very end.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 25mm | 290g
  • Philadelphia, United States
  • English
  • International edition
  • 1683692136
  • 9781683692133
  • 51,194

Review Text

I read this in a single, compulsive sitting. A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller about how our devices manipulate and exploit our closest relationships. Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star 

At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down. Tahereh Mafi, New York Times Bestselling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
Nostalgic, romantic, thrilling, and with an exciting twist, I devoured This Is Not The Jess Show and didn't want it to end! Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game  

A thrilling and thought-provoking ride." Kirkus Reviews
 
This is Not the Jess Show goes deep in exploring how people live their lives and create their own realities sometimes at a cost." Foreword Reviews

The fast-paced, intricate plot ramps up Jess's paranoia and frustration, both of which are vividly expressed through her first-person narrative. Booklist

A fun and thoughtful thriller; this YA novel will please fans of E. Lockhart and Kiera Cass." School Library Journal
show more

Review quote

"I read this in a single, compulsive sitting. A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller about how our devices manipulate and exploit our closest relationships."-Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star

"At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down."-Tahereh Mafi, New York Times Bestselling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea

"Nostalgic, romantic, thrilling, and with an exciting twist, I devoured This Is Not The Jess Show and didn't want it to end!"-Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game

"A thrilling and thought-provoking ride."-Kirkus Reviews

"This is Not the Jess Show goes deep in exploring how people live their lives and create their own realities-sometimes at a cost."-Foreword Reviews

"The fast-paced, intricate plot ramps up Jess's paranoia and frustration, both of which are vividly expressed through her first-person narrative."-Booklist

"A fun and thoughtful thriller; this YA novel will please fans of E. Lockhart and Kiera Cass."-School Library Journal
show more

About Anna Carey

Anna Carey is the author of Blackbird, Deadfall, and the Eve trilogy. She lives in Los Angeles.
show more

Rating details

1,949 ratings
3.65 out of 5 stars
5 16% (304)
4 43% (839)
3 33% (647)
2 7% (145)
1 1% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X