This Is My America
10%
off

This Is My America

4.66 (102 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Incredible and searing." --Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system. Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time--her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy's older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a "thug" on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town's racist history that still haunt the present? Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won't want to miss this provocative and gripping debut.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 140 x 211 x 34.29mm | 521.63g
  • Bantam Dell Publishing Group, Div of Random House, Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0593118766
  • 9780593118764
  • 15,098

Review quote

"An incredible and searing examination of the often tragic collision of racism and a flawed criminial justice system. Read and reread ... and reared again." --Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"This is My America promises a powerful story about racial injustice, featuring stunning prose reminiscent of Nic Stone and Angie Thomas." --Paste Magazine "Harrowing and worthwhile; a call-to-action from the anti-racist insights of a generation of black activists." --Kirkus, starred review "This strong debut will strike home with socially conscious readers." --Booklist "A strong debut. Will appeal to readers of Angie Thomas and fans of criminal justice podcasts like Serial and In the Dark." --SLJ
show more

About Kim Johnson

KIM JOHNSON held leadership positions in social justice organizations as a teen. She's now a college administrator who maintains civic engagement throughout the community while also mentoring Black student activists and leaders. This Is My America is her debut novel. It explores racial injustice against innocent Black men who are criminally sentenced and the families left behind to pick up the pieces. She holds degrees from the University of Oregon and the University of Maryland, College Park. Kim lives her best life in Oregon with her husband and two kids. Find her at KCJOHNSONWRITES.COM and follow her on Twitter and Instagram @kcjohnsonwrites.
show more

Rating details

102 ratings
4.66 out of 5 stars
5 71% (72)
4 25% (26)
3 4% (4)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X