This Heavy Silence

This Heavy Silence

3.27 (136 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$29.95

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

When Dottie Connell adopts her best friend's daughter out of a combination of spite and loyalty, she must confront her ideas on motherhood, sexuality, and God. This Heavy Silence explores the mysteries of grace, the bargaining of birthright and the power of vows?both the vows we make to others, and, more binding, those we make to ourselves. Evoking the hardship, windswept beauty and simplicity of life in the rural Midwest, this beautifully observed debut novel leads us to question our ideas about motherhood, the obligations of family, and faith. It will appeal to readers of A Map of the World and Gap Greek.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 147.32 x 215.9 x 20.32mm | 453.59g
  • Center Point
  • Thorndike, ME, United States
  • English
  • Large type / large print
  • large type edition
  • 1585477303
  • 9781585477302

Rating details

136 ratings
3.27 out of 5 stars
5 14% (19)
4 28% (38)
3 38% (52)
2 12% (16)
1 8% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X