This Gun for Hire

This Gun for Hire

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Perfectly crafted" "PW" (starred review) Jo Goodman, a premier writer of western romance and the author of "In Want of a Wife, "is back with a sensational new novel for fans of Linda Lael Miller and Joan Johnston. He s got a job to do Former army cavalryman Quill McKenna takes pride in protecting the most powerful man in Stonechurch, Colorado: Mr. Ramsey Stonechurch himself. But the mine owner has enemies, and after several threats on his life, mines, and family, Quill decides to hire someone to help guard the boss s daughter. Only problem is the uncontrollable attraction he feels toward the fiery-haired woman who takes the job. but she s a piece of work. Calico Nash has more knowledge of scouting and shooting than cross-stitching, but she agrees to pose as Ann s private tutor while protecting her. But between her growing attraction to Quill and the escalating threats against the Stonechurches, Calico will soon have a choice to make hang on to her hard-won independence or put her faith in Quill to create the kind of happy ending she never imagined "show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 106.68 x 167.64 x 25.4mm | 181.44g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Berkley Publishing Corporation,U.S.
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0425277437
  • 9780425277430
  • 558,480

Review quote

Praise for "This Gun for Hire" "Goodman...treks to 1888 Colorado for a perfectly crafted tale of a working partnership between two competent, self-reliant sharpshooters. Quill McKenna functions as both lawyer and bodyguard to powerful mine owner Ramsey Stonechurch. When Ramsey worries that his enemies might threaten his daughter, Ann, who has decided to stay at home rather than traveling for her advanced studies, he takes Quill's suggestion to hire Katherine 'Calico' Nash, whom Quill met while she was taking down an abusive outlaw in a brothel. Calico guards Ann under the guise of being her academic tutor, and soon she captures Quill's heart as well. The two mercenaries are brought together by similar goals on the right side of the law, high mutual regard, and a little bit of fate. Their romance is much more than incidental but doesn't overshadow the excitement of the bigger story. Goodman balances the pair's toughness and tenderness, independence and teamwork, and practicality and passion in a way that never lessens one in the service of the other; they become something greater together without ever compromising their individuality."--"Publishers Weekly" (starred review) "When I am fortunate enough to have a great book in my hands, I typically read it straight through, even if it takes until dawn. This book I felt compelled to savor. I did not want it to end....As far as this reader is concerned, Jo Goodman can write a sequel featuring Quill and Calico and I would knock on the bookstore window at midnight to read it....I highly recommend this one." --"All About Romance" (Desert Isle Keeper Review) "One of the premier Western romance writers, Goodman delivers a solid plot with engaging characters. There's plenty of sexual tension, and from its rousing beginning to the powerful climax, there's enough adventure to satisfy fans."--"RT Book Reviews " Acclaim for the novels of Jo Goodman "Jo Goodman is a master."--"Fresh Fiction" "A totally compelling read."--"Library Journal" (starred review) "[A] first-rate tale."--"Publishers Weekly" (starred review)show more

About Jo Goodman

Jo Goodman is a"USA Today"bestselling author who has written multiple series, including the Hamilton Family series and the Thorne Brothers series. Jo lives in West Virginia."show more