This Book Will Not Be Fun

This Book Will Not Be Fun

3.4 (665 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

*A 2018 Children's and Teen Choice Book Award Finalist! A mouse who acts as a careful custodian of his book tries to guarantee his reader some peace and order in spite of escalating chaos. For fans of The Book With No Pictures and This Book Just Ate My Dog! A book is no place for tomfoolery, and this mouse assures us that his book is to be no exception. Just please ignore that Word-Eating Flying Whale, and--oh, no, the lights have gone out. Wait, what is THAT?! Nothing to fear. Everything is under control. . . . Readers will delight as this charming yet uptight mouse is challenged and subverted by gloriously imaginative creatures that are like nothing you've ever seen. Will our little mouse succumb to the attractiveness of their overwhelming exuberance? Newcomer Cirocco Dunlap delivers an on-point debut picture-book text that dances outside the boundaries of its pages. Olivier Tallec breathes extra lunacy into this nutty little world with his absurdist palette and amusing forms.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 32 pages
  • 248 x 289 x 10mm | 465g
  • Random House Books for Young Readers
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • FULL COLOR
  • 0399550615
  • 9780399550614
  • 633,994

Review quote

"[Dunlap's] dialogue (well, monologue) shines, and Tallec's (Who What Where?) artwork, like the mouse himself, is impeccably turned out. " --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
show more

About Cirocco Dunlap

CIROCCO DUNLAP has written for the New Yorker and McSweeney's Quarterly Concern, as well as television's Man Seeking Woman and Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. You can find her at ciroccodunlap.com and follow her on Twitter and Instagram at @ciroccotweets. This is her first picture book. OLIVIER TALLEC is an illustrator based in Paris. Following his graduation from the École Supérieure d'Arts Graphiques, he worked in advertising as a graphic designer. He has subsequently devoted himself to illustration and has illustrated more than sixty books, including Who Done It? and Louis I, King of the Sheep. You can visit him on the Web at oliviertallec.fr.
show more

Rating details

665 ratings
3.4 out of 5 stars
5 16% (107)
4 26% (172)
3 43% (285)
2 12% (80)
1 3% (21)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X