Thirteen
29%
off

Thirteen : The serial killer isn't on trial. He's on the jury

4.3 (5,990 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

THE SERIAL KILLER ISN'T ON TRIAL.

HE'S ON THE JURY...

****************

'Books this ingenious don't come along very often.' Michael Connelly

'THIRTEEN is my favourite read of the year.' Sarah Pinborough

'Outstanding.' Lee Child

'Smart and original. This is a belter of a book.' Clare Mackintosh

'One of the most mercilessly compelling thrillers you will read this decade' Chris Brookmyre

****************

'To your knowledge, is there anything that would preclude you from serving on this jury?'

Murder wasn't the hard part. It was just the start of the game.

Joshua Kane has been preparing for this moment his whole life. He's done it before. But this is the big one.

This is the murder trial of the century. And Kane has killed to get the best seat in the house.

But there's someone on his tail. Someone who suspects that the killer isn't the man on trial.

Kane knows time is running out - he just needs to get to the conviction without being discovered.

****************

THIRTEEN REASONS WHY ... YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK:

'An oh so clever hook for an oh so clever, gripping book. THIRTEEN is courtroom drama at its finest, blended with page-turning twists and characters you can't get enough of. Steve Cavanagh is the John Grisham for a new generation. Slick, thrilling and unique, THIRTEEN is my favourite read of the year.'
Sarah Pinborough

'Outstanding - an intriguing premise, a tense, gripping build-up, and a spectacular climax. This guy is the real deal. Trust me.'
Lee Child

'Smart and original. This is a belter of a book.'
Clare Mackintosh

'Great hook. Great plot. Great book. Thirteen is a real page turner and one you won't want to put down.'
Simon Kernick

'A brilliant, twisty, ingeniously constructed puzzle of a book. Steve Cavanagh pulls off an enviable premise with panache.'
Ruth Ware

'I've been tracking Steve Cavanagh for a few years now and Thirteen is his best, a dead bang beast of a book that expertly combining his authority on the law with an absolutely great thrill ride. Books this ingenious don't come along very often.'
Michael Connelly

'Quite simply deserves to be HUGE. If you read a thriller as good this year, it's only because you've read this one twice.'
Mark Billingham

'Tore through this between dusk and dawn. Absolute 5-star cracker from Steve Cavanagh, who's gotta be among top legal thriller writers out there nowadays. A powerhouse of a book that's much more than its high-concept hook.'
Craig Sisterson

'Wow! This book is friggin' awesome! Utterly immersive.'
Emma Kavanagh

'Fantastically gripping? Guilty as charged!'
Angela Clarke

'An absolute cracker.'
Susi Holliday

'Guilty of thrills, twists, and expertly manipulating the reader.'
Mason Cross

'An absolute rollercoaster of a read. Thrilling.'
Cass Green
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 132 x 200 x 23mm | 250g
  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1409170675
  • 9781409170679
  • 152

Review Text

An oh so clever hook for an oh so clever, gripping book. THIRTEEN is courtroom drama at its finest, blended with page-turning twists and characters you can't get enough of. Steve Cavanagh is the John Grisham for a new generation. Slick, thrilling and unique, THIRTEEN is my favourite read of the year. Sarah Pinborough
show more

Review quote

A twisty clever read. * Woman's Way * A truly first-class US courtroom drama. * The Times * A cracking premise. * Sunday Independent * A fast-paced and absorbing thriller. Prepare to buckle up as a smattering of seemingly isolated events spiral into a twist-laden read. * The Herald * A blisteringly exciting thriller, with a chilling killer. * Sunday Express * This is a heart-racing novel with vertiginous twists and turns. A winning mix of glamour and gruesomeness. * The Lady * Grisham-on-steroids. * Irish Independent * Fans of John Grisham and Lee Child will enjoy this book. * Independent * Witty and clever ... irresistible. * Daily Telegraph * An adrenaline-fuelled thrill ride. Thirteen is courtroom drama at its finest. An outstanding legal thriller, so original, clever and accomplished that it should not be missed. It marks out Cavanagh as the heir apparent to John Grisham. * Daily Express * That central hook along with Cavanagh's breakneck prose pace and expert plotting make for a white-knuckle ride of a story. It's something of a high-wire act, blending the machinations of a courtroom drama with the high-octane cat and mouse of a serial killer plotline, but Cavanagh delivers on both counts in spades, expertly cranking up the tension towards an explosive finale that will take thereader's breath away. Cracking stuff. * Big Issue * This dazzling serial killer thriller set in Manhattan is written by a Dublin-based civil rights lawyer. One of the most accomplished legal dramas I have read this year, it reminds me of Scott Turow's stunning Presumed Innocent. The trial itself reveals Cavanagh's astonishingly sure touch for character and the skill of his serpentine plotting. * Daily Mail * Cavanagh sets a cracking pace ... a genuine, read-in-one-sitting page-turner. * Guardian * This incredibly skilful novel deserves nothing less than five stars. It would be a crime to miss it. * The Sun * Smells like a best seller to me. I read it in 2 sittings ... LOVED it. * Adrian McKinty * Believe the hype, folks. This is one of the most mercilessly compelling thrillers you will read this decade. * Chris Brookmyre * What a book! I loved it so much. * Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle and The Collector * Twisty, clever and beautifully written, a book this good deserves the highest praise possible. That's why I'm giving it 13/10. * Simon Toyne * Superb, fast-paced legal thriller. So well-plotted (I LOVED the court/jury details). Hints of Lee Child. BRILLIANT. * Will Dean, author of Dark Pines * A superbly intriguing, hooky, grippy, twisty, clever thriller that kept me up all night. * Liz Nugent * Guilty of thrills, twists, and expertly manipulating the reader. * Mason Cross * Fantastically gripping? Guilty as charged! * Angela Clarke * Wow! This book is friggin' awesome! Utterly immersive. * Emma Kavanagh * Tore through this between dusk and dawn. Absolute 5-star cracker from Steve Cavanagh, who's gotta be among top legal thriller writers out there nowadays. A powerhouse of a book that's much more than its high-concept hook. * Craig Sisterson * Quite simply deserves to be HUGE. If you read a thriller as good this year, it's only because you've read this one twice. * Mark Billingham * An absolute rollercoaster of a read. Thrilling. * Cass Green * Great hook and the book lives up to it! * Ian Rankin * Great hook. Great plot. Great book. Thirteen is a real page turner and one you won't want to put down. * Simon Kernick * A brilliant, twisty, ingeniously constructed puzzle of a book. Steve Cavanagh pulls off an enviable premise with panache. * Ruth Ware * I've been tracking Steve Cavanagh for a few years now and Thirteen is his best, a dead bang beast of a book that expertly combining his authority on the law with an absolutely great thrill ride. Books this ingenious don't come along very often. * Michael Connelly * Smart and original. This is a belter of a book. * Clare Mackintosh * Outstanding - an intriguing premise, a tense, gripping build-up, and a spectacular climax. This guy is the real deal. Trust me. * Lee Child * An oh so clever hook for an oh so clever, gripping book. THIRTEEN is courtroom drama at its finest, blended with page-turning twists and characters you can't get enough of. Steve Cavanagh is the John Grisham for a new generation. Slick, thrilling and unique, THIRTEEN is my favourite read of the year. * Sarah Pinborough *
show more

About Steve Cavanagh

Steve Cavanagh was born and raised in Belfast before leaving for Dublin at the age of eighteen to study Law. He currently practices civil rights law and has been involved in several high profile cases; in 2010 he represented a factory worker who suffered racial abuse in the workplace and won the largest award of damages for race discrimination in Northern Ireland legal history. He holds a certificate in Advanced Advocacy and lectures on various legal subjects (but really he just likes to tell jokes). He is married with two young children.

Follow Steve on Facebook at facebook.com/SSCav1 and Twitter @SSCav
show more

Rating details

5,990 ratings
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 49% (2,943)
4 36% (2,139)
3 12% (730)
2 2% (135)
1 1% (43)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X