Things You Save in a Fire
32%
off

Things You Save in a Fire

4.22 (9,353 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Cassie Hanwell was born for emergencies. As one of the only female firefigters in her Texas firehouse, she's seen her fair share of them, and she's excellent at dealing with other people's tragedies. But when her estranged and aililng mother asks her to uproot her life and move to Boston, it's an emergency of a kind Cassie never anticipated.

The tough, old-school Boston firehouse is as different from Cassie's old job as it could possibly be. Hazing, a lack of funding, and poor facilities mean that the firemen aren't exactly thrilled to have a 'lady' on the crew, even one as competent and smart as Cassie. Except for the handsome rookie, who doesn't seem to mind having Cassie around. But she can't think about that. Because she doesn't fall in love. And because of the advice her old captain gave her: don't date firefighters. Cassie can feel her resolve slipping... but will she jeapordise her place in a career where she's worked so hard to be taken seriously?

Things You Save in a Fire is a heartfelt, affecting novel about life, love, and the true meaning of courage.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 168 x 247 x 30mm | 497g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250047323
  • 9781250047328
  • 21,570

Review quote

Praise for Things You Save in a Fire:

One of:
The Washington Post's "The 10 Books to Read in 2019 Based on What You Loved in 2018"
The Hollywood Reporter's "2019 Books to Keep on Your Radar"
She Reads' "Most Anticipated Books of 2019"
Good Housekeeping's "25 Best New Books of Summer 2019"
USA Today's "Must Read Women's Fiction of 2019"
Bookbub's "31 of the Biggest Books Coming Out This Summer"
The Nerd Daily's "Most Anticipated Reads of 2019"
An August 2019 LibraryReads Pick!

"Oh, how I love Katherine Center's writing...and her newest novel is a gem...a story that reminds us that the word emergency has, at its heart, a new beginning. Just read it, and thank me later." --Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things

"Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive." --Kirkus, starred review

"A compelling love story, a tearjerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center." --Booklist, starred review

"An emotionally resonant and deeply satisfying love story...a moving testament to the power of forgiveness." --BookPage

"A spirited, independent heroine meets a smoking-hot fireman in Center's smart romance... If you enjoyed 'The Kiss Quotient, ' by Helen Hoang, read Things You Save in a Fire"' -- The Washington Post

"Center crafts a heartfelt story of growth and the redemptive power of love perfect for fans of women's fiction, especially works by Jodi Picoult and Elin Hilderbrand." -- Library Journal

"The novel is at its best in the fire station...its window into firefighter culture is fascinating. But Things You Save In a Fire has a greater ambition, too: shedding a light on trauma victims and the devastating effects of ignoring emotional fallout from a harrowing experience." - Newsday

"Katherine Center's funny, unabashedly sentimental romance unfolds between Cassie, the only woman firefighter in her town, and a new rookie on the squad." -- Refinery29

"A novel as vibrant as its cover." - Bustle

"[Things You Save in a Fire] is not only delightfully romantic, but also courageous and inspiring." - The Christian Science Monitor

"An emotional story of self-discovery and forgiveness." -- Fresh Fiction

"Things You Save in a Fire is a profound tale of how a woman makes it in a man's world." -- The New York Journal of Books

"A wonderful exploration of personal vulnerability and strength that takes the reader along on Cassie's journey ... Things You Save in a Fire is sure to be a hit." -- Shelf Awareness

"I don't even know how to explain how much I adored this book...This is a story of love, of family, and of learning how to be vulnerable--and trust me, Cassie's life journey is one you don't want to miss." --Siobhan Jones, Book of the Month Club

Praise for How to Walk Away

"A marvelous example of acceptance and healing and a celebration of family." --USA Today

"Center explores the limits of hope and love...[she] transforms the story of a family tragedy into a heartfelt guide to living the fullest life possible." --Publisher's Weekly

"With its appealing characters and wisdom about grappling with life's challenges, Center's sixth novel has all the makings of a breakout hit." --Booklist (starred review)

"A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg." --Kirkus
show more

About Katherine Center

KATHERINE CENTER is the New York Times bestselling author of seven novels, including How to Walk Away, Happiness for Beginners, and The Bright Side of Disaster. Her fourth novel, The Lost Husband, is soon to be a movie. Katherine has been compared to both Nora Ephron and Jane Austen, and the Dallas Morning News calls her stories, "satisfying in the most soul-nourishing way." Katherine recently gave a TEDx talk on how stories teach us empathy, and her work has appeared in USA Today, InStyle, Redbook, People, The Atlantic, Real Simple, and others. Katherine lives in Houston with her husband and two sweet kids. Visit her online at katherinecenter.com.
show more

Rating details

9,353 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 43% (4,066)
4 40% (3,742)
3 13% (1,232)
2 3% (248)
1 1% (65)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X