Things We Say in the Dark

Things We Say in the Dark

4.12 (157 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 5 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A shocking collection of dark stories, ranging from chilling contemporary fairytales to disturbing supernatural fiction, by a talented writer who has been compared to Angela Carter.

So here we go, into the dark.

Some things can't be spoken about in the light of day. But we can visit our fears at night, in the dark. We can turn them over and weigh them in our hands and maybe that will protect us from them. But maybe not.

The characters in this collection find their aspirations for happy homes, happy families and happy memories dissected and imbued with shimmering menace. Alone in a remote house in Iceland a woman is unnerved by her isolation; another can only find respite from the clinging ghost that follows her by submerging herself in an overgrown pool. Couples wrestle with a lack of connection to their children; a schoolgirl becomes obsessed with the female anatomical models in a museum; and a cheery account of child's day out is undercut by chilling footnotes.

These dark tales explore women's fears with electrifying honesty and invention and speak to one another about female bodies, domestic claustrophobia, desire and violence. From a talented writer who has been compared to Angela Carter, Things We Say in the Dark is a powerful contemporary collection of feminist stories, ranging from vicious fairy tales to disturbing horror and tender ghost stories.

KIRSTY LOGAN WAS SELECTED AS ONE OF BRITAIN'S TEN MOST OUTSTANDING LGBTQ WRITERS by Val McDermid for the International Literature Showcase in 2019
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 240 pages
  • 144 x 222 x 25mm | 361g
  • HARVILL SECKER
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1787301532
  • 9781787301535
  • 41,952

Review Text

"Finely crafted feminist short stories, each one gripping and unnerving in equal measure… you won’t put it down"
show more

Review quote

A dark delight... It's a well-paced, stylistically playful collection - and most importantly, deeply unsettling * Tatler * Frequently compared to Angela Carter for her luxuriant imagination and love of fairytales, Kirsty Logan shifts from the uncanny to the terrifying in her new collection of short stories. the book also works cumulatively, building up an impressive atmosphere of dread. * Guardian * Fans of Angela Carter and Shirley Jackson take note...Logan's prose shimmers with menace and her tightly wrought nightmares feel intensely real. * i * Her poetic, supernatural prose has lace edges of sticky, violent terror...Logan masters the format indubitably, channelling the spirit of Angela Carter... these tales seem to perfectly suit the unsettling times in which we live. Luckily for us, in writing these terrifying tales Logan, like Margaret Atwood or George Orwell, turns the big light on. * Herald * Logan observes modern anxieties and commonplace troubles and twists them into surreal new shapes...marvellously unnerving...her sharp wit is unmistakable. * New Statesman * Literary and menacing. Powerfully unsettling. A fascinating collection. * Metro * Finely crafted feminist short stories, each one gripping and unnerving in equal measure... you won't put it down * Sunday Telegraph * Deeply, deeply unsettling and brilliant collection of short stories. Some feature horror, nearly all feature dread and, in the manner of Shirley Jackson, all will burrow their way into your brain and not let go. * Stylist *
show more

About Kirsty Logan

Kirsty Logan is the author of the novels The Gracekeepers and The Gloaming, the short story collections A Portable Shelter and The Rental Heart & Other Fairytales, the flash fiction chapbook The Psychology of Animals Swallowed Alive, and the short memoir The Old Asylum in the Woods at the Edge of the Town Where I Grew Up. Her books have won the LAMBDA Literary Award, the Polari First Book Prize, the Saboteur Award, the Scott Prize and the Gavin Wallace Fellowship, and been selected for the Radio 2 Book Club and the Waterstones Book Club. In 2019 she was selected as one of the ten most outstanding LGBTQ British writers for the International Literature Showcase. Her short fiction and poetry has been translated into Japanese and Spanish, recorded for radio and podcasts, exhibited in galleries and distributed from a vintage Wurlitzer cigarette machine. She lives in Glasgow with her wife and their rescue dog.
show more

Rating details

157 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 40% (63)
4 39% (62)
3 13% (21)
2 6% (10)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X