Things Half in Shadow

Things Half in Shadow

3.96 (802 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 16-21 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Postbellum America makes for a haunting backdrop in this historical and supernatural tale of moonlit cemeteries, masked balls, cunning mediums, and terrifying secrets waiting to be unearthed by an intrepid crime reporter. Edward Clark is a successful young crime reporter in comfortable circumstances with a lovely, well-connected fiancée. Then an assignment to write a series of exposés on the city's mediums places all that in jeopardy. In the Philadelphia of 1869, photographs of Civil War dead adorn dim sitting rooms, and grieving families attempt to contact their lost loved ones. Edward's investigation of the beautiful young medium Lucy Collins has unintended consequences, however. He uncovers her tricks, but realizes to his dismay that Lucy is more talented at blackmail than she is at a medium's sleights of hand. And since Edward has a hidden past, he reluctantly agrees that they should collaborate in exposing only her rivals. The mysterious murder of noted medium Lenora Grimes Pastor as Lucy and Edward attend her séance results in a plum story for Edward--and a great deal more. The pair want to clear themselves from suspicion, but a search spanning the houses of the wealthy to the underside of nineteenth-century Philadelphia unearths a buzzing beehive of past murder, current danger, and supernatural occurrences that cannot be explained...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 132 x 206 x 33mm | 386g
  • English
  • 1476761728
  • 9781476761725
  • 1,851,845

Review quote

Well researched with historical details and complemented by rich characters, this historical thriller is packed with intrigue, deception, and hidden pasts. The solid balance between history and the supernatural will keep readers emerged...Fans of Caleb Darr, Dan Simmons, Sarah Waters, and John Harwood will enjoy.-- "Library Journal"
show more

Rating details

802 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 30% (243)
4 44% (352)
3 19% (156)
2 5% (37)
1 2% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X