They'll Never Catch Us
9%
off

They'll Never Catch Us

3.76 (5,511 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

From rising star Jessica Goodman, author of They Wish They Were Us, comes a second slick, fast-paced thriller about two sisters vying for the top spot on their cross-country team and the new girl who threatens to take everything they've worked for away...until she disappears.

Ellie and Stella Steckler are only a year apart, but their different personalities make their relationship complicated. Stella is single-minded, driven, and intense. Cross-country running is her life and she won't let anything get in the way of being the best. Her sister Ellie is a talented runner too, but she also lets herself have fun. She has friends. She goes to parties. She has a life outside of cross-country.

The sisters do have one thing in common, though: the new girl, Mila Keene. Both Stella's and Ellie's lives are upended when Mila comes to town. Mila was the top runner on her team back home and Ellie and Stella see her as a threat. But Ellie can't help but be drawn to her warm, charming personality. After her best friend moved away and her first boyfriend turned out to be a total jerk, Ellie's been looking for a friend. To her surpise, Stella too can't help but see Mila as funny, and strong--someone she can confide in, finally. As the two get closer, Stella becomes something she vowed she'd never be: distracted.

With regionals approaching, the pressure is on. Each of their futures are on the line and friendship, or even something more, won't get in their way. But then, suddenly, Mila goes out on a training run and never returns. No one knows what happened, but all eyes are on the Steckler sisters.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 142 x 208 x 23mm | 329g
  • Razorbill
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • International edition
  • 0593353455
  • 9780593353455
  • 121,007

Review quote

PRAISE FOR THEY’LL NEVER CATCH US
 
“A fast paced thriller” —Entertainment Weekly

“[A] thrilling mystery of friendship, deception and jealousy" —Women.com

“Uniquely explores the complexities of sisters” —BuzzFeed
 
“Goodman has delivered yet another twist-filled tale….Clear your schedule now because you won’t be able to put this one down.” —E! Online
 
“Beautiful Hudson Valley hiking trails are the perfect setting for this twisty small-town mystery.” —Cosmopolitan

“If you like your beach reads more on the thriller side, you should definitely pick up Jessica Goodman’s They’ll Never Catch Us.” —The Young Folks

“They’ll Never Catch Us…fully establishes Goodman as a force to be reckoned with in the world of contemporary YA thrillers…Another twisty and suspenseful murder mystery…[A] story of sisterhood and survival, the horrors of high school, the cruelty that young women are taught to show to one another.” —Culturess

“[A] twisty, page-turning new novel out this week…Like her fantastic first book, it’s a Y.A. thriller about murder, gossip, the terror-scape that is the high school lunchroom, and competitive young women with ambitions too big for the boxes they’re expected to fit into.” —Rich Text Podcast

“There’s a palpable passion for the joy and power of running as well as some biting commentary about restrictions on young women. Readers will sympathize with Stella’s need for speed and keep the pages turning swiftly in response.” —BCCB

“This novel is a thoughtful examination of socio-economic challenges, the impact of crushing personal secrets, and the ways female athletes suffer under the weight of misogyny, especially when they are aggressively competitive. A deftly layered sports thriller populated with fierce girls.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Suspenseful and gripping, yet a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story, you won’t be able to put this down. And just when you think you’ve figured out the mystery, Goodman delivers a twist that will send you reeling.” —Diana Urban, author of All Your Twisted Secrets

“An utter page-turner. Goodman's voice is razor-sharp and keenly precise. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn!” —Tiffany D. Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of White Smoke and Grown
show more

About Jessica Goodman

Jessica Goodman is the op-ed editor at Cosmopolitan. She is also the author of They Wish They Were Us.
show more

Rating details

5,511 ratings
3.76 out of 5 stars
5 21% (1,159)
4 43% (2,350)
3 29% (1,598)
2 6% (341)
1 1% (63)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X