A Theory of Relativity
27%
off

A Theory of Relativity

3.61 (3,655 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"[An] astonishing pleasure."

--Seattle Times



"A graceful, moving, and compelling novel. Jacquelyn Mitchard at her finest."

--Scott Turow, author of Innocent



A poignant and unforgettable novel from Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of the monumental New York Times bestsellers The Deep End of the Ocean and The Most Wanted, A Theory of Relativity is a powerful tale that explores the emotional dynamics and dramas of two families fighting for custody of a young child. The very first author selected by the Oprah Book Club, Mitchard is a matchless, wise, and warm chronicler of families and their human foibles--and A Theory of Relativity is contemporary women's fiction at its best, a must-read for fans of Sue Miller, Jane Hamilton, and Elizabeth Berg.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 398 pages
  • 101.6 x 172.72 x 33.02mm | 204.12g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0060836938
  • 9780060836931
  • 1,429,579

Back cover copy

A terrible accident has left little Keefer orphaned but not unwanted. Devastated by his beloved sister's tragic death, twenty-four-year-old bachelor Gordon McKenna assumes that he will be entrusted with raising his niece, whom he has grown extremely close to over the few precious months of Keefer's life. But the child's paternal grandparents have different ideas--and a fierce legal battle ensues that will test the capacity and limitations of family love again and again . . . and no one will emerge from it unscathed or unchanged.

Jacquelyn Mitchard, whose powerful, emotionally rich novels have won resounding critical acclaim and a wide, enthusiastic audience worldwide, brings us a soaring, heartbreaking, and unforgettable tale of love and the bonds that unite us all.
show more

Review quote

"Mitchard . . . brings literary finesse, wisdom, and deep emotion to this believable and remarkably involving tale."--Booklist
show more

Rating details

3,655 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 20% (714)
4 36% (1,315)
3 33% (1,222)
2 8% (303)
1 3% (101)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X