And Then I Woke Up
5%
off

And Then I Woke Up

3.61 (1,842 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.61 (1,842 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

"Intelligent, compassionate and unsettling."--The New York Times

"Devlin twists and breaks the typical zombie narrative without spoiling one of the cleverest conceits in recent horror. Suffice to say that the author takes a scalpel to the post-truth era."--Esquire

In the tradition of Mira Grant and Stephen Graham Jones, Malcolm Devlin's And Then I Woke Up is a creepy, layered, literary story about false narratives and their ability to divide us.

In a world reeling from an unusual plague, monsters lurk in the streets while terrified survivors arm themselves and roam the countryside in packs. Or perhaps something very different is happening. When a disease affects how reality is perceived, it's hard to be certain of anything...

Spence is one of the "cured" living at the Ironside rehabilitation facility. Haunted by guilt, he refuses to face the changed world until a new inmate challenges him to help her find her old crew. But if he can't tell the truth from the lies, how will he know if he has earned the redemption he dreams of? How will he know he hasn't just made things worse?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 176 pages
  • 127 x 202 x 14mm | 146g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250798078
  • 9781250798077
  • 179,892

Review quote

Included in Esquire's roundup of Best Horror Books of 2022

"Intelligent, compassionate and unsettling, And Then I Woke Up is both an invitation to and a caution against allegory."--The New York Times

"Devlin twists and breaks the typical zombie narrative without spoiling one of the cleverest conceits in recent horror. Suffice to say that the author takes a scalpel to the post-truth era."--Esquire

"Devlin's post-truth parable is almost too clever to summarise . . . Already pitch dark, the book accrues awful weight in the wake of Covid denial and political lies."--The Guardian

"Devlin does a superb job showing how his afflicted characters are compelled to accept outrageous beliefs that contradict the objective realities before them. The result is an unsettling cautionary tale for the age of alternative facts."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Speculative fiction's futuristic and fantastic worlds have always served as a mirror for present-day issues, and this is a fine example of the new wave of stories grappling with our current tumult."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This unique take on classic horror stories will have wide appeal."--Library Journal

"Fans of Brian Keene, Adam Nevill, and Simon Strantzas will devour this apocalyptic pandemic tale, which will remind readers of a cross between Resident Evil and Fight Club."--Booklist

"A scathing portrait of the world we live in and a running commentary on what's story, what's truth, and what's not."--Stephen Graham Jones

"This is a beautiful exploration of the seductive power of narrative, the need to be a part of something, and the toxic influence of propaganda. Highly recommended from every angle."--Mira Grant

"The perfect story for the maddening times we find ourselves in. For every time we've said of a loved one who's gone astray, 'dear God, why can't they just wake up?'"--Alma Katsu

"A sly snake of a narrative that, with wonderful pacing and elegant writing, continuously sheds its skin that revealing ever new realities that weave together and inform each other."--Jeffrey Ford

"And Then I Woke Up brilliantly calls into questions not only our ability to recognize truth, but also our ethics, politics, and most fundamental perceptions of each other, all within a gripping story."--Nancy Kress

"And Then I Woke Up is a deft and moving novella about the ways in which with stories we make and unmake the world--and sometimes lose track of reality in the process."--Brian Evenson

"Brutal and affecting"--Kaaron Warren
show more

About Malcolm Devlin

Malcolm Devlin's (he/him) stories have appeared in Black Static, Interzone, The Shadow Booth, and Shadows and Tall Trees. His first collection, You Will Grow Into Them was published by Unsung Stories in 2017 and shortlisted for the British Fantasy and Saboteur Awards. A second collection, also to be published by Unsung Stories, is due to be published in Summer 2021. He currently lives in Brisbane.
show more

Rating details

1,842 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 17% (312)
4 40% (737)
3 32% (587)
2 10% (178)
1 2% (28)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X