The Yorkshire Shepherdess

The Yorkshire Shepherdess

4.32 (1,312 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


A Sunday Times top ten bestseller.

Amanda Owen has been seen by millions on ITV's The Dales and Channel 5's Our Yorkshire Farm, living a life that has almost gone in today's modern world, a life ruled by the seasons and her animals. She is a farmer's wife and shepherdess, living alongside her husband Clive and seven children at Ravenseat, a 2000 acre sheep hill farm at the head of Swaledale in North Yorkshire. It's a challenging life but one she loves.

In The Yorkshire Shepherdess she describes how the rebellious girl from Huddersfield, who always wanted to be a shepherdess, achieved her dreams. Full of amusing anecdotes and unforgettable characters, the book takes us from fitting in with the locals to fitting in motherhood, from the demands of the livestock to the demands of raising a large family in such a rural backwater. Amanda also evokes the peace of winter, when they can be cut off by snow without electricity or running water, the happiness of spring and the lambing season, and the backbreaking tasks of summertime - haymaking and sheepshearing - inspiring us all to look at the countryside and those who work there with new appreciation.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 22mm | 257g
  • Pan Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1447251784
  • 9781447251781
  • 18,376

Table of contents

Introduction - i: Introduction

Chapter - 1: A Normal Childhood
Chapter - 2: Wild Oats and Wool Sacks
Chapter - 3: One Woman and Her Dog
Chapter - 4: Ravenseat Only
Chapter - 5: Hill Shepherdess
Chapter - 6: Married in My Riding Boots
Chapter - 7: Reuben Ready or Not!
Chapter - 8: Miles To Go
Chapter - 9: Edith On the Way
Chapter - 10: Our Little Flower
Chapter - 11: Clive's Big Break
Chapter - 12: Free-range Children
Chapter - 13: Sidney in the Snow
Chapter - 14: Annas Makes Seven

Acknowledgements - ii: Acknowledgements
Section - iii: List of Illustrations
show more

About Amanda Owen

Amanda Owen grew up in Huddersfield but was inspired by the James Herriot books, amongst others, to work in farming. After learning her craft as a freelance shepherdess, cow milker and alpaca shearer, she settled down as a farmer's wife with her own flock of sheep at Ravenseat. Happily married with nine children (so far), she wouldn't change a thing about her hectic but rewarding life. Voted Yorkshirewoman of the Year by the Dalesman magazine, she is also the author of A Year in the Life of the Yorkshire Shepherdess and appeared on ITV's The Dales and Countrywise.
show more

Rating details

1,312 ratings
4.32 out of 5 stars
5 52% (682)
4 32% (424)
3 13% (165)
2 3% (33)
1 1% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X