The Wreckage
19%
off

The Wreckage : The gripping new thriller that everyone is talking about

3.75 (513 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

One of The Times 'Best New Crime Fiction' picks

'A thrilling, creepy climax and a double-whammy twist. A more than promising debut.' - The Times

'A twist I never saw coming, and a male main character with insecurity and vulnerability - I've never met anyone like him in a thriller before.' - Rosamund Lupton

'Creepy and compelling' - Peter James

One fatal crash

Ben is driving on the motorway, on his usual commute to the school where he works. A day like any other, except for the crash.

Two colliding worlds

Adam has left his home for the last time. In his final despairing act, he jumps in front of Ben's car, turning the teacher's world upside down.

Three wrecked lives

Wracked with guilt, Ben seeks out Alice, Adam's widow, and her 7-year-old son Max. But as he tries to escape the trauma of the wreckage, could Ben go too far in trying to ease his conscience?

Gripping and sinister, The Wreckage is guaranteed to keep you up all night...

Perfect for fans of Fiona Barton, Cara Hunter and C.L. Taylor.

'A terrific debut exploring the vulnerabilities and co-dependency of damaged individuals. I loved the wonderfully subtle but insistent tone of menace woven into the narrative, winding me into the colliding worlds of Ben and Alice and pushing me on to finish it. Clever and compelling!' - Fiona Barton, bestselling author of The Widow
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 160 x 238 x 34mm | 520g
  • Trapeze
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1409194175
  • 9781409194170
  • 1,291,413

Review quote

I was completely gripped from the very first page. I absolutely loved - and loathed - the slow, steady unfolding of your worst nightmare relationship. Robin Morgan-Bentley is a master of hold-your-breath suspense. * Mel B * This thriller is so gripping because it could happen to anyone. The Wreckage is original, intelligent and utterly compelling. I loved it. * Matt Lucas * It doesn't feel like a first novel at all, it's written with the confidence of someone several books into their writing career. I absolutely loved Alice and her sarcasm. It's a great original idea, and the style reminded me in parts of authors like Clare Mackintosh, TM Logan and Mark Edwards. * John Marrs, author of THE ONE * The tension builds beautifully and the twist hits you like a ten-ton truck. -- Matt Nixson This is a terrifying psychological thriller - credible & gut-wrenching. It takes scary to a new level. We are cunningly forced into the pit of obsession. Completely successful, an exciting new writer. I loved it. * Miriam Margolyes * Gripping with a great twist! * Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange * Superb characterisation and a devilish twist that took me completely by surprise. * Mark Edwards * Immersive, compulsive and gripping. * C.L. Taylor * A terrific debut exploring the vulnerabilities and co-dependency of damaged individuals. I loved the wonderfully subtle but insistent note of menace woven into the narrative, winding me into the colliding worlds of Ben and Alice and pushing me on to finish it. Clever and compelling! * Fiona Barton * An exciting debut. Such a different take on things to read from a male point of view. Fresh and enthralling. * Mel Sherratt * A disturbing and utterly compelling read - I loved it! * K.L. Slater, author of Blink * An exceedingly good debut novel, that tackles serious issues with real compassion and empathy, allows the characters to draw you in and feel their pain, and keeps you guessing... -- Joy Ellis Artfully written, and the focus on Adam and Ben's internal conflict was a welcome reversal of stereotypes often found in psych thrillers. A page-turner and the twist at the end was one I didn't see coming -- LJ Ross '...a thrilling, creep climax and a double-whammy twist. A more than promising debut.' * The Times * CREEPY AND COMPELLING A twist I never saw coming, and a male main character with insecurity and vulnerability - I've never met anyone like him in a thriller before. A completely riveting debut - Robin Morgan-Bentley is definitely one to watch! ... splendidly creepy debut ... haunting stuff * Daily Mail * A brilliant book... such a good thriller Fresh and engaging, with such well-drawn central characters. It kept me gripped, and felt realistically, messily, human. A thoroughly compelling read you won't be able to put down. An absolutely cracking debut novel from a young writer who clearly one to watch. * Sunday People * Fast-pace and told by two narrators, we wanted to carry on reading instead of going to work. * Heat Magazine * There's so much to relish...all delivered with a propulsive plot and with a terrific final twist. * Sunday Mirror * Dark, complex and wonderfully gripping. * Woman Magazine * ... this psychological thriller will have you enrapt. * Woman's Weekly * A wonderfully gripping tale - it is so original The motivations of each character are complex and dark, the narrative powerful and gripping. * Woman's Weekly Fiction * A brilliant study in psychological obsession, The Wreckage is smart, sinister and unpredictable. * JP Delaney * Artfully written, and the focus on Adam and Ben's internal conflict was a welcome reversal of stereotypes often found in psych thrillers. A page-turner and the twist at the end was one I didn't see coming -- LJ Ross
show more

About Robin Morgan-Bentley

Robin Morgan-Bentley was born and grew up in London. After studying Modern and Medieval Languages at Cambridge University, he went on to work for Google before moving to Audible, where he has been working since 2014. His debut thriller, The Wreckage, was nominated for the CWA Dagger John Creasey New Blood Award, the CrimeFest Specsavers Debut Crime Award and Capital Crime's Debut Book of the Year Award. Robin lives in Buckinghamshire with his husband and son.
show more

Rating details

513 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 27% (140)
4 34% (176)
3 27% (136)
2 10% (52)
1 2% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X