The Witch of Willow Hall

The Witch of Willow Hall

3.69 (6,800 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

"Steeped in Gothic eeriness."--Nicola Cornick, USA Today bestselling author

In Salem, they burned. Now, they will rise.

New Oldbury, 1821

The house holds its breath, trying to outlast me...

Something has awakened in Willow Hall. Eighteen-year-old Lydia Montrose can feel it. But she has no idea what it is.

Rocked by rumor and scandal, Lydia, her parents, and her sisters, Catherine and Emeline, fled their sparkling life in Boston for the sleepy country estate. But bone-chilling noises in the night have Lydia convinced their idyllic new home wasn't exactly vacant when they arrived.

The Salem witch trials cast a long shadow over the Montrose family as the cloying heat of summer in Massachusetts mingles with something sinister in the air. The sprawling history of Willow Hall is no stranger to secrets, and its dark past soon calls to Lydia, igniting ancient magic she never knew she possessed. But with menacing forces unwilling to rest, threatening to tear her family apart, Lydia must learn to harness her newly discovered power or risk losing everyone she holds dear.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 132 x 201 x 28mm | 340g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 1525833014
  • 9781525833014
  • 879,061

Review quote

The Witch of Willow Hall offers a fascinating location, a great plot with history and twists, and characters that live and breathe. I love the novel, and will be looking forward to all new works by this talented author!--Heather Graham, New York Times bestselling author

Beautifully written, skillfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror...perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Kate Morton. -Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby mysteries

The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader. --Lisa Hall, author of Tell Me No Lies and Between You and Me

I was entranced by this intriguing and spellbinding novel...I hope Hester Fox goes on to write many more such novels--I for one will be buying them.--Kathleen McGurl, author of The Girl from Ballymore

This compelling story had me gripped from the first page. The vividly drawn characters cast their spell so convincingly, I couldn't stop reading until I discovered what happened to them. A wonderful debut novel.--Linda Finlay, author of The Flower Seller

Steeped in Gothic eeriness, it's spine-tingling and very atmospheric. I love the character of Lydia and the way she learns and grows into her powers.--Nicola Cornick, USA TODAY bestselling author of House of Shadows

The Witch of Willow Hall is so spookily good I felt haunted by it. Totally obsessed with Lydia's story...I absolutely loved it from start to finish.--Sarah Bennett, author of the Lavender Bay series

A creepy estate, juicy scandal, family secrets, ghosts and a handsome yet mysterious suitor make this a satisfying and quietly foreboding tale.--BookPage

Fox spins a satisfying debut yarn that includes witchcraft, tragedy, and love...the inclusion of gothic elements adds a visceral feel that fans of historical fiction with a dash of the supernatural will enjoy.--Publishers Weekly
show more

Rating details

6,800 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 21% (1,454)
4 39% (2,682)
3 29% (1,948)
2 8% (567)
1 2% (149)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X