The Visitors
21%
off

The Visitors

3.72 (332 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

`Once you start Catherine Burns's dark, disturbing, and enthralling debut novel, it's hard to stop. The Visitors is bizarrely unsettling, yet compulsively readable.' Iain Reid, Internationally Bestselling Author of I'm Thinking of Ending Things Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware. Marion Zetland lives with her domineering older brother, John in a decaying Georgian townhouse on the edge of a northern seaside resort. A timid spinster in her fifties who still sleeps with teddy bears, Marion does her best to shut out the shocking secret that John keeps in the cellar. Until, suddenly, John has a heart attack and Marion is forced to go down to the cellar herself and face the gruesome truth that her brother has kept hidden. As questions are asked and secrets unravel, maybe John isn't the only one with a dark side.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 28mm | 400g
  • Legend Press Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1787199851
  • 9781787199859
  • 509,089

Review quote

"Burns blurs the line between crime fiction and horror... Deliberate pacing, a claustrophobic setting, and vivid, wildly unsympathetic characters complement the twisted plot and grim conclusion." -- Publishers Weekly "Atmospheric, eerie and affecting. Catherine Burns has created a complex and chilling world in which nothing is as it seems. A very clever confident novel, beautifully plotted with multiple twists and turns. I couldn't stop reading it." -- Suellen Dainty "Burns combines a study of a middle-aged woman, a tale of a highly dysfunctional family and slow burn of a mystery, creating a compelling read that's at once highly entertaining and wholly disturbing ... A dark and thrilling debut novel: disturbing, gripping, and hugely impressive." -- Luke Marlowe A compellingly creepy tale of twisted loyalty and dark family secrets, full of a slow-building suspense and a horribly fascinating sense of the macabre -- TM Logan "I absolutely loved it. I would advise any nail biters to sit on their hands while reading this book because they will chew right down to the knuckle. By far the creepiest novel I have read in a long time ... a highly original and intriguing mystery so compelling that I abandoned my own work to finish it" -- Liz Nugent "Compelling and wonderfully dark, choked with suspense and yet leisurely in the telling. I enjoyed it immensely" -- Emma Curtis "A dark exploration of evil in its many forms, this is an uncomfortable and disturbing yet utterly compelling read" -- SJI Holliday "A dark, compelling story with a few twists and turns that will keep the reader glued to the pages ... I found myself completely engrossed in Marion's disturbing world, which was well drawn by Catherine Burns. A very strong debut" -- Sarah Denzil, author of Saving April "An insidious, creepy novel, with a slow burn that leads to a horrifying revelation" -- Literary Hub "An insightful study of loneliness and evil" "Deliberate pacing, a claustrophobic setting, and vivid, wildly unsympathetic characters complement the twisted plot and grim conclusion" "A dark and thrilling debut novel: disturbing, gripping, and hugely impressive ... Cleverly crafted, this is an impressive debut from a strong new talent" "An insidious, creepy novel, with a slow burn that leads to a horrifying revelation" "[A] must read" "Beautifully written ... [a] dark, gritty and inviting tale that explores the darker side of human nature" "Will linger in the shadows and under the bed long after the last page is turned" "The sense of creeping unease from the very first page actually made me put it down in an attempt to not give myself nightmares" "Twists and turns and secrets you don't see coming" "A wonderfully dark and suspenseful read from a talented debut author" "The writing, the characters and the mood of this book were absolutely superbly done" "A deeply disturbing and unforgettable novel, dripping with evil and horror ... furiously gripping, addictive and absolutely impossible to put down" `Once you start Catherine Burns's dark, disturbing, and enthralling debut novel, it's hard to stop. The Visitors is bizarrely unsettling, yet compulsively readable.' -- Iain Reid, Internationally Bestselling Author of I'm Thinking of Ending Thingsshow more

About Catherine Burns

Born in Manchester, Catherine Burns is a graduate of Trinity College Cambridge. She worked as a bond trader in London before studying at the Moscow Institute of Film, and teaching film theory at Salford University. The Visitors is her debut novel.show more

Rating details

332 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 21% (71)
4 45% (148)
3 22% (74)
2 9% (30)
1 3% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X