The Victoria in My Head
26%
off

The Victoria in My Head

4.13 (51 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A shy, rule-following teen winds up joining a local rock band in this laugh-out-loud, heartfelt coming-of-age novel. Victoria Cruz inhabits two worlds: In one, she is a rock star, thrashing the stage with her husky voice and purple-streaked hair. In the other, currently serving as her reality, Victoria is a shy teenager with overprotective Cuban parents, who sleepwalks through her life at the prestigious Evanston Academy. Unable to overcome the whole paralyzing-stage-fright thing, Victoria settles for living inside her fantasies, where nothing can go wrong and everything is set to her expertly crafted music playlists. But after a chance encounter with an unattainably gorgeous boy named Strand, whose band seeks a lead singer, Victoria is tempted to turn her fevered daydreams into reality. To do that, she must confront her insecurities and break away from the treadmill that is her life. Suddenly, Victoria is faced with the choice of staying on the path she's always known and straying off-course to find love, adventure, and danger. From debut author Janelle Milanes comes a hilarious and heartfelt tale of the spectacular things that can happen when you go after what you really want.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 389 pages
  • 147.32 x 213.36 x 33.02mm | 453.59g
  • Simon Pulse
  • English
  • 1481480898
  • 9781481480895

Review quote

"[A] brisk and confident debut." --Publishers Weekly "An endearing, fast-paced read with a realistically sweet, if sheltered, first-generation-American protagonist." --Kirkus Reviews "Victoria's ability to conquer her own fears in this coming- of-age story might inspire adolescents to follow their own dreams." --Booklist "Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park will appreciate this slightly off-kilter romance and its ready-made playlist." --School Library Journalshow more

Rating details

51 ratings
4.13 out of 5 stars
5 43% (22)
4 33% (17)
3 20% (10)
2 2% (1)
1 2% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X