The Unlikely Lady

The Unlikely Lady

3.9 (1,498 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$7.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Miss Jane Lowndes is a confirmed bluestocking. She's convinced that if she can wait out her parents' demand that she marry, someday she can be a confirmed spinster and hold intellectual salons, her fondest dream. No man wants a bluestocking for a wife after all. And that's exactly the way Jane likes it. In fact, she'd invented a fictitious chaperone to help her achieve that purpose. Lord Garrett Upton is a devil-may-care confirmed bachelor. He's lived through the war and now that he's back in London, he intends to enjoy life to the fullest. Marriage is certainly not a part of that plan. He's known Miss Lowndes for years and the two of them have long engaged in war of words. Jane's latest scheme to pretend she has a fake chaperone is none of his business...until her desire to involve herself in a scandal becomes all too personal. When Garrett and Jane mistakenly kiss at a wedding party masquerade, their well-documented dislike for each other is turned on its ear. And when a devious widow who will stop at nothing to have Garrett plots to keep them apart, will their desire for each other overcome their dreams of remaining unattached?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 105 x 171 x 21mm | 158.76g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250042097
  • 9781250042095
  • 474,341

Review quote

"Too delightful to miss!" --New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas on Valerie Bowman's novels

"Splendidly satisfying...[with] emotional depth." --Booklist (starred review) on Valerie Bowman's novels

"Fabulous, sexy tales!" --USA Today bestselling author Kieran Kramer on Valerie Bowman's novels

"In this installment, the gloves are off... this book is laugh out loud funny. I loved every second of it. A full length novel, rich story and impeccable comedic timing, I didn't want to leave this delightful little world." --Smexy Books, Smexy Books

"Impossibly charming, witty and sexy fun." --Be My Bard

"Valerie Bowman's Playful Bride series is a delightful example of the best in celebrating love between two smart caring individuals who respect each other. THE UNLIKELY BRIDE ...[is] a wonderful retelling of MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING. Recommended for fans of Eileen Dreyer and Mary Robinette Kowal." --Mysterious Galaxy Bookstore
show more

About Valerie Bowman

Valerie Bowman grew up in Illinois with six sisters (she's number seven) and a huge supply of historical romance novels. After a cold and snowy stint earning a degree in English with a minor in history at Smith College, she moved to Florida the first chance she got.

Valerie now lives in Jacksonville with her family including her rascally dog, Roo. When she's not writing, she keeps busy reading, traveling, or vacillating between watching crazy reality TV and PBS.
show more

Rating details

1,498 ratings
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 30% (444)
4 39% (587)
3 25% (376)
2 5% (70)
1 1% (21)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X